NYC Ballet Fans, part 2

sk9tingfan

I am just getting into ballet in a bigger way than in the past - I know it's not the same as seeing a ballet live but do any of you have recommendations for full-length ballets on youtube I might watch? I watched the 1990 or so Kirov Ballet Swan Lake yesterday and really enjoyed it.

Any of Balanchine's ballets. Too numerous to list and using a more modern approach. But here's a comprehensive listing.

Spun Silver

I am just getting into ballet in a bigger way than in the past - I know it's not the same as seeing a ballet live but do any of you have recommendations for full-length ballets on youtube I might watch? I watched the 1990 or so Kirov Ballet Swan Lake yesterday and really enjoyed it.
As for Balanchine -

Here is a vid of Concerto Barocco with the young Suzanne Farrell - old and grainy but so worth the watching, esp for the second movement. It's as if you never heard the music (famous as it is -- Bach's double violin concerto in D minor) until you've seen this ballet.

Here's a relatively recent performance of Square Dance (to Vivaldi) as performed wonderfully by the Miami City Ballet, in two parts.

Here's an ABT version of La Sonnambula with its heartstopping pas de deux between the Poet and the Sleepwalker, with Baryshnikov and Alessandra Ferri, again oldish grainy vid (from the 1980s):

I had also attached a three part 1977 version of the Four Temperaments done by NYC Ballet with the glorious Bart Cook and Adam Luders as Melancholic and Phlegmatic, but it disappeared while I was watching the Sonnambula pas de deux, so you'll have to find it for yourself, if you like Balanchine enough to want more. His ballets aren't super easy to find on YouTube because they are seriously copyrighted so watch while you can.

mackiecat

Often movie theatres will show a filmed ballet. Might be closer to the real thing than watching on YouTube.

sk9tingfan

As for Balanchine -