Gymnastics News #21 - Tumbling on to Tokyo

Status
Not open for further replies.

danafan

Canadian ladies über
The only way wolf turns will go away is if they devalued them, but then they'd probably have to devalue all turns. No big loss for me. In fact they could take away the pirouetting requirement. Honestly, if I was a coach, I'd teach wolf turns as well as a double wolf on FX is a D-level skill, fulfills the pirouetting requirement, and it seems to be more deduction-safe than some of the other pirouette variations where many gymnasts fall out of and almost fall on their face.

There is no requirement to do a pirouette element on floor under FIG rules.

danafan

Canadian ladies über
WUT? Mai Murakami is OFF the Japanese team?
I had to search to make sure I hadn’t misunderstood. Seriously Japan?
Gymnastics is one sport where I feel that the hardcore fans really do have much more common sense and logic than the federations that govern it.

Murakami :wuzrobbed

Japan has always been very strict with their team selection rules and they pick their teams way earlier than any other country. And this isn't the first time Mai was overlooked when surely a more subjective process would have selected her. She didn't make the 2012 team and she was by far (as I recall) the most promising gymnast in Japan the whole quad. And apparently she was only an alternate on the 2015 world team before being subbed in and being the top Japanese AAer.

While I think team selection should be as objective as possible, you need to leave some subjectivity in there. I mean at least leave one spot for selection by "committee" or something.

VGThuy

There is no requirement to do a pirouette element on floor under FIG rules.

There isn't? I thought it was, but the last time I checked on that was like 2012. Or maybe I assumed it because I saw some gymnasts just doing a throwaway single pirouette the way some gymnasts did a throwaway forward salto in isolation.

danafan

Canadian ladies über