Vaytsekhovskaya's interview with Arutyunian

TAHbKA

Cats and garlic lover
Elena Vaytsekhovskaya's interview with Rafael Arutyunian for ria.ru
(please click the original article for the paper counter & :swoon: photos)

My phone greetings on Brezina's silver medal and making it to the GPF for the first time in 7 years and how he did it the coach replied
RA: I was happy as a kid. First of all Michal and I have been working together for 2 years now, which is exactly the time needed for the athlete to learn working hard and get the result. I didn't realize it till recently, hence now when I sign a contract it's for 2 years time. If the person is not ready to sign it I will not accept them - I don't see a point. To change the athlete's approach to work in a shorter period of time is almost impossible and I was proved that several times. It's not the technical problem, that you can teach. But that most of the athletes are not training right.

EV: Can you explain?
RA: Sure. The result is mainly the technology. It depends on many little things: how does the athlete warm up, which practices they do and what for. Many times the athlete shows up for the practice, does what he is told, sometimes quite well, but does not really think why they are not progressing. They keep doing the same job day after day not understanding it will not change a thing. Hence you have to work on the athlete's set of mind. Teach them to listen and do what they are told and not they think is right.

EV: Taken the said Brezina came to your group as an adult person the process must have been tough.