alilou's Adventures in Wonderland 2 - all over the map

Marge_Simpson

alilou, they are all stunning. :) You have such a knack for photographing people. My question is, why are you not working for National Geographic?????

Alilou

Ubercavorter
alilou, they are all stunning. :) You have such a knack for photographing people. My question is, why are you not working for National Geographic?????
Thanks so much @Marge_Simpson! I wish I was, but honestly I don't think I'm good enough yet. I am however working for a major adventure travel company that is sending me (and Don) on a 3 week tour of China in May in exchange for writing and photography. It's a good start :)

Alilou

Ubercavorter
Seconding what Marge said!
Thanks @skatesindreams. I guess my problem is I look at some of what some of the best photographers are doing and think they are so brilliant. It always inspires me to do better and to learn more, and I know I'm a way better photographer than I was a few years ago. And then recently I was looking at the people photographs of a very famous photographer and instead of being a little in awe I really looked at them and realised that many of my shots are just as good. Maybe one day I'll pursue more recognition for what I do. Right now I'm trying to recover from a truly heinous flu in time for Canadians, and then in the bigger picture to fully recover stamina and fitness after hip surgery in time for the big trip to Japan and China in May/June. I have at least blogged my way into free travel! Yay! And there will likely be more to come. I can't wait to get out with my camera again. With the hip surgery and now this illness slowing me down it feels as if it has been a long time since I've been really inspired. Bring on the new year!

dinakt

It's been a while. Focused on getting strong and fit again (which takes up soooo much time!) and now I've been sidelined with a cold :( All woolly headed :( but here it is - a new blog post.