Something "kids" today wouldnt know about....

once_upon

Better off than 2020
This may be silly and boring/no interest in, but what's something you experienced/did growing up, that would be something someone younger than you might think really really strange?

When I was a freshman in college we had one telephone for our floor of 30 dorm rooms. It was next to the lounge and any of us answered it yelling for the who it was for.

On Tuesdays and Saturdays nights, we would stand in line to have our turn at making an outgoing phone call. Limit was 5 minutes (most of them were shorter than that because of costs of long distance charges).

- Curfew
-Dorm parents.
-Receiving living room, where your date picked you up.

Amy L

Waiting for a song to come up on the radio or MTV (!) with the cassette/VHS player in order to record it.

Trying to "save" a cassette by slowly, carefully rewinding it with the help of a pencil.

Being the youngest kid, therefore the designated channel changer when the living room TV didn't have a remote.

Rotary phones!

Dialup modems! The generational war that started everytime you were online and one of the parents wanted to make a phone call.

tony

Throwing the (rule)book at them
what kids wouldn’t know about - cell phones! (That’s an easy one).
Kids today wouldn't know about cell phones? Okay then..

I was going to say dial-up modems as well. 20-30 minutes to download one song. Hours to download one video. Only having a home phone and AOL blocking the line all day. Blockbuster and Family Video and all of that. Cursive.

JJH

Party lines on telephones.
Taking the the bus downtown to go to the library with a friend when you're both 8 years old.
Walking to school by yourself or with a friend from second grade and up. Crossing a 2lane highway with no light. Crossing Main Street with a light. No crossing guards.

Carbon paper. Does anybody still use carbon paper?

No window unit air conditioners.

Cachoo