alilou's Adventures in Wonderland - all over the map.

orientalplane

Mad for mangelwurzels
Magnificent indeed! You have a wonderful gift for describing things so beautifully and observantly. Gorgeous photos too, and everything resplendent with colour and life. :swoon: Thank you. :) Just as an aside, a few years ago I tried to swim across the Mekong from Thailand to Laos. Needless to say I did not succeed. :lol:

Last edited:

spikydurian

I've been meditating for so many years. I started just constantly returning to the breath. It took me a long time to realise that I shouldn't be trying to get something from meditation. If you're trying to get something it means you're striving. Now it's not about quieting the mind - I'm pretty good at that, but more about watching and questioning. The mind makes up stories. The issue isn't the mind, or it's stories. It's that we believe them. So my meditations are sometimes just about exploring/resting in the emptiness, and sometimes challenging the mind stories with "is that true?" The question doesn't have an answer. it's simply to challenge any fixed or rigid position of the mind.

Everyone has a roaming mind because we've all been taught to believe that's who we are and therefore need it to survive. Funny thing is at the times there's no thoughts - there we still are :)
I tried meditation before but gave up ... just didn't try enough. Perhaps some day, I will try again. I find the 'focus' method hardest. Thanks for the experience sharing. I will keep that in mind.

Alilou

Ubercavorter
Magnificent indeed! You have a wonderful gift for describing things so beautifully and observantly. Gorgeous photos too, and everything resplendent with colour and life. :swoon: Thank you. :) Just as an aside, a few years ago I tried to swim across the Mekong from Thailand to Laos. Needless to say I did not succeed. :lol: