To AirBnB or not to AirBnB? That is the question...

misskarne

Handy Emergency Backup Mode
I've always had a fairly deep-rooted mistrust for these sorts of heavily unregulated things like AirBnB, Uber, etc and have thus far refused to use them.

However...

I'm going away for a week to another part of the country later in the year and, curious, checked AirBnB. I've found two well-reviewed, nice-looking places within a good distance of my destination for considerably cheaper than the hotel I currently have a reservation at (which is further out). Like, half the price cheaper.

Is it worth the risk? We're talking a few hundred dollars here so it's not an insignificant amount of money, and the properties/hosts seem to have lots of very good reviews...thoughts welcome...

genevieve

drinky typo pbp, closet hugger (she/her)
Staff member
I use Airbnb all the time. I've had some odd experiences (keep in mind that I do the cheap end of Airbnb, so this is expected), but never anything truly horrible. Most of my experiences have been really great! The important thing is to read reviews carefully, look at all photos, and to check what amenities are listed against what your needs are. It's also a good idea to compare similarly-priced Airbnbs in the area - is what you're getting significantly higher or lower than similar places in the neighborhood?

The other important consideration is that, unless you're going for the high end (which tend to be apartments used solely for Airbnb), you're staying in someone's home. There may be some quirks, or things that aren't what you'd expect in a hotel - take the cost savings into account. I don't mean that if the place is filthy or there are no light bulbs to look the other way, but it may not look like a professional cleaning staff has been through and there may be some odd features.

If you decide to go for it and want a first-time user's discount code, let me know ;)

PRlady

Cowardly admin
Staff member