Shameless plea for work advice (capacity models, supply/demand)

Coco

Rotating while Russian!
Let me first say that I'm a lawyer, and all this finance stuff is greek to me.

I'll spare you my personal feelings about being asked to find out how many (if any) of my friends should get laid off, but here we go:

My team produces four kinds of widgets. The quality control team has to review widget A zero times, widgets B & C one time and widget D three times.

We know how long each widget takes either team to complete/review. Based on the volume of demand for each of the four widgets, we can see how many people we need.

However, the demand for the widgets fluctuates a lot. One day, no one needs any, then another day, people need 14. We can't get this to smooth out and be more even, and we can't control how much notice we get, or the day we need to complete the widget.

Soooo....what model do I use to show how many people we need to accommodate those heavy demand days?

I should also add that while we know the average time each widget takes to complete / review, there is MASSIVE fluctuation in the range of time required to complete / review each widget.

There it is...the most boring post in the history of FSU...my apologies to those of you who are still reading it!

jeffisjeff