Re-opening rinks with social distancing

MacMadame

Doing all the things
Also, unless a personal waiver (seen at a few rinks) is written very carefully -- from my understanding (I'm not a lawyer, nor do I play one on TV), negligence on the part of the rink or coach could void the waiver...?
I went to a USFS seminar on insurance and the lawyer giving it said flat out that waivers are not worth the paper they are printed on from a legal standpoint. (But to get people to sign them anyway because they can serve as a deterrent for being sued.)

In the US, you can't sign away your rights. If the rink or event organizers are negligent, it doesn't matter what you signed.

In terms of how much officials care about businesses that open up in violation of public health orders, what they are doing where I live (and as far as I can tell, most places) is that if a business gets reported, law enforcement goes out to visit and educates them. If they still won't shut down, they look at ways to pressure them without arresting them. This includes threats to withdraw any licenses required to run that business. So a liquor license for a restaurant, for example. And if that doesn't work (or there isn't anything they can use as leverage), then there are fines.

A business can't stay in business without their licenses or with heavy fines. A thrift store near me opened up early and ended up getting over $20k in fines.

Z

ZilphaK

I went to a USFS seminar on insurance and the lawyer giving it said flat out that waivers are not worth the paper they are printed on from a legal standpoint. (But to get people to sign them anyway because they can serve as a deterrent for being sued.)

In the US, you can't sign away your rights. If the rink or event organizers are negligent, it doesn't matter what you signed.