Online Student Support, Tutoring, Special Needs Support

Angelskates

I work in the field of special needs, and in addition to running a very small school, also work with some students individually. The individual students have a variety of issues, dyslexia, dyscalculia, global delay etc. One family that I work with (I work with three of their kids) is considering relocating to another country, and have asked me if I would consider working with the kids via Skype.

My sessions are usually really interactive and multi sensory, one of the kids can't walk (she scuttles up the stairs on her bum, so she can be mobile, but she can't stand) but we still move quite a bit - playing games, ball throwing etc. The other kids (who are a little older) are more in their seats, but again, it's quite interactive with games and multi sensory activities.

I don't want to say no to this family if I can help it - they have been working with me really well for several years after more than two years on my waiting list. They would consider not moving if I say no...but that means being apart from their dad, who will definitely be relocating.

So, my question to you, wise FSUers, is this... can I make this work? And if so, do you have any ideas? I consider myself a very creative teacher, but I can't wrap my head around this at all! I know some people do online/Skype tutoring, but all of the places I have Googled say they do it, but don't mention how it works... Honestly, I'm not even sure I can picture it for tutoring, let alone special needs or learning support.

The mum mentioned that she could buy any of the games I use so they have a set and so do I, but logically and time-wise, I don't think this is ideal...but maybe I am just being too closed minded with such a foreign idea.

Any suggestions or resources welcome!

Spun Silver

No idea, and what a tough position you are in... but that is very wonderful work you do (speaking as the aunt of a special needs student).

BigB08822