Job search help... resume writer, etc.

Jayar

Hi everyone-- I am planning to look for a new job this year as I am ready to take the next step in my career. I am going to be looking for a service to help elevate my LinkedIn page, update my resume, and perhaps do some HeadHunting for me. I am a Project Manager, and I am looking to shift into the tech field. Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Debbie S

Good luck!

I don't know if you need a service to do those things. There is a lot of info online about how to beef up your LinkedIn profile and resume....and most of it is consistent - for LinkedIn, join industry groups and post in discussion forums, share articles and blog posts, follow companies you want to work for, highlight accomplishments in your profile, etc - i'm not sure a service would be able to tell you anything different. Headhunters generally work for companies looking to hire, not for individual candidates. Actually, I would stay away from anyone who claims to find people jobs for a fee, those are usually scams. But make sure recruiters specializing in your industry have your resume, so they can contact you if an appropriate job comes across their desk.

D

Deleted member 221

I agree, save your $. For LinkedIn, add skills, get endorsements, get recommendations from people who know you in different capacities, preferably at least one manager, peer, and employee / subordinate and at least five in total. If you're looking to get into tech, play up tech-y things in your resume, and include at least one tech-y interest / hobby. Make sure your LinkedIn and your resume match. A lot of people like to customize their resume for each position, which is fine except if it contradicts LinkedIn, which pretty much employer will check. Consistency is key.