Grad school encouragement

centerstage01

So I got into grad school and I've almost finished my first week and while the classes are interesting and the professors all seem very nice and willing to help you with anything, I'm still nervous as all hell. I've had one doozy of an anxiety attack already, mostly because after getting the syllabus it hit me that not only do I have all this to do, but I'm also a grad assistant to FOUR professors and they all have projects for me to help them with along with helping to grade undergrad work. (Thankfully, I only have to work 20 hours a week, but still.) My advisor (who was one of my favorite undergrad profs), keeps telling me I'll be fine and yes, it's challenging, but I'll get into the swing of things as the semester goes on.

Has anyone here got tips on how to lessen my anxiety and any study tricks to help get through the pile of reading material? That part's not so bad now, but I haven't started any research papers yet and while I know organization is key, am I going to be allowed any chance to breathe until school is over? I hope it doesn't sound like I'm whining, because I truly don't mean to, I just don't want to fail at all this.

Winnipeg

I completed grad school a few years ago. I recall feeling very similar worries my first week. When I look back, it was the best experience ever. I learned a lot and.....you get to focus your studies on areas of most interest.

I also was a prof assistant. I was very nervous my first time leading a lab! I even forgot how to calculate some easy something or other! Just froze.

You will overcome these early jitters. They are quite natural. Grad work can be the most interesting educational experience as you can really focus on your primary interests. A key factor is making sure you have a great advisor who has a consistent record of successful grad students finishing their degrees.

Keep in touch and I will try and help where I can!