Polina Tsurskaya: `I did bring flowers to Tutberidze'

TAHbKA

Cats and garlic lover
An interview with Polina Tsurskaya in sovsport.ru `I did end up bringing flowers to Tutberidze'

Q: At the end of May you announced retirement. Do you regret?
PT: Not at all. I haven't skated for 3 months, just announced it a bit later. My life is completely different now.

Q: What kind of life is it?
PT: First I was lost. The first week was great, I thought that was the definition of happiness. But then realized I can't go on without moving. So I started working with the kids on the ice. For now it's the only way for me to earn some money and well, to get out. I graduated the highschool, did my exams in advance and the uni will only start September 1st. Hence I started looking for kids to work with.

Q: How?
PT: I published an ad in several forums. When we started working on the ice the parents spotted me and asked to work with their kids as well.

Q: So on which ice do we get to see the coach Polina Tsurskaya?
PT: Wherever they ask me to work.

Q: How much does a lesson with you cost?
PT: I would tell in person. But it's an average price.

Q: Were your coaches much more expensive?
PT: I never took private lessons.

Q: Interesting, now a days the parents pay a fortunate for the additional private lessons.
PT: It's a common practice now. Things used to be different. In Omsk, where I began skating there was enough ice time as it was. Then I switched to Eteri Tutberidze. There is no such thing as an additional private lesson with a different coach in her group. Everyone works at their time. You worked hard and done your job - great, you haven't - it's your problem. But the process in `Hrustalny' rink is such that everyone gets enough ice time.

Q: Were you living on the ice?