1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. We have updated the board style and hope you like it. If you don't, you can switch back by going to https://www.fsuniverse.net/forum/index.php?misc/style Select V Bulletin 3.0 style.

ISU's Dore talks Olympic team figure skating event, min. scores & injury timeout rule

Discussion in 'Great Skate Debate' started by Sylvia, Mar 16, 2013.

  1. Sylvia

    Sylvia Still recovering from Worlds...

    45,622
    27,481
    David Dore conducted the annual ISU press conference at Worlds yesterday and covered a range of topics: http://www.icenetwork.com/news/article.jsp?ymd=20130316&content_id=42839970&vkey=ice_news
    Excerpt:
     
  2. overedge

    overedge Janny uber

    22,399
    11,515
    Does Tessa stopping to have her baby qualify as a "health problem"? :lol:
     
    TheIronLady and (deleted member) like this.
  3. SamuraiK

    SamuraiK Well-Known Member

    2,353
    1,039
    Well, at least he's honest about the crappy scheduling of the team event. The ISU wanted to do it at the end but the TV broadcasters said a big NO and in the end money rules the world. *sigh*
     
  4. Really

    Really I need a new title

    31,105
    8,779
    Specifically US TV broadcasters who believe the ladiezzzzz event is the be-all and end-all of skating.
     
  5. caseyedwards

    caseyedwards Well-Known Member

    8,638
    1,300
    But can Russia actually switch men between team and singles to get around having one man?
     
  6. professordeb

    professordeb Well-Known Member

    3,861
    547
    I would say it does.

    BTW, do you know when Meryl is expecting hers? ;)
     
  7. nylynnr

    nylynnr Well-Known Member

    577
    301
    As I understand it, and I am certain someone will correct me if I am wrong, no, Russia (or any other nation) cannot do that. Russia has qualified one man, two ladies, three pairs and three dance, for Olympics and it must field its team using the athletes it brings. However, if, say, another country has qualified Olympic spots in just 3 of the four disciplines, it can add a non-qualified skater ("alternative athlete") to the team. So Italy, who did not qualify a man in London, can bring an alternative athlete for the team event, and that athlete doesn't have to meet the minimum TES set for other men, he has to meet the minimum TES set for the alternative athletes.

    What a team can do: if it has two or more athletes qualified in an event, it may use one for the short and, presuming it qualifies for final, another for free dance or free skate. So Russia could field, say, Tukt in short, and Sotnikova in free. However, a country can only do this twice. TMI?