1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi all! No longer will threads be closed after 1000 (ish) messages. We may close if one gets so long to cause an issue and if you would like a thread closed to start a new one after a 1000 posts then just use the "Report Post" function. Enjoy!

[Hersh] Playing by the Rules Apparently Doesn't Apply..., A Team Gets Shut Out of a World Meet

Discussion in 'Great Skate Debate' started by Willin, Feb 17, 2017.

  1. Willin

    Willin Well-Known Member


    A synchronized skating story

    Tl;dr - USFSA ignored it's own stated rule (the current National champ must be on the Junior World team) and did not send the reigning Junior champion team to the Junior Worlds. It should also be noted that the reigning Junior champion finished second at the selection event and that the third place team was sent to Junior worlds over them.

    The reigning national champion has filed a grievance and USFSA is being quiet about it so far.

    (On the other hand, the 3rd place team at the event had a higher international ranking, and better political connections in USFSA)
    DimaToe likes this.
  2. Carolla5501

    Carolla5501 Well-Known Member

    There's a reason USFSA is not on my list of institutions I trust... they spend a lot of time playing "we like skater X" instead of development of the sport overall. (And of course the fans are just a problem to be ignored LOL!)
  3. tylersf

    tylersf Active Member

    Oh I know. If history repeats itself, this could happen in 2018 to a couple of US skaters next year. Some scenarios include:
    • Leaving a national champion off the Olympic team despite a good season
    • Allowing a favorite skater who has a bad nationals (finishing way off the podium) to go instead of someone who won or finished on the podium
    • Not replacing an injured skater with a healthy 1st alternate who is not held in high esteem by USFSA and going with 2 spots even though there are 3 spots
    • Bypassing a healthy 1st alternate but allowing a 2nd alternate to participate even when he or she maybe unprepared or even injured
    • Making a podium finisher 3rd alternate behind 2 people who finished below him or her
  4. Skittl1321

    Skittl1321 Well-Known Member

    Except for non-synchro, all these things would be within the stated rules. Synchro rulebook SPECIFICALLY states the champion goes to worlds.
    Carolla5501 and Willin like this.