1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. We have updated the board style and hope you like it. If you don't, you can switch back by going to https://www.fsuniverse.net/forum/index.php?misc/style Select V Bulletin 3.0 style.

2013 Professional Skaters Association (PSA) 'EDI' Award winners are...

Discussion in 'Great Skate Debate' started by Sylvia, May 25, 2013.

  1. Sylvia

    Sylvia Still recovering from Worlds...

    Coach of the Year: Christy Krall

    Paul McGrath Choreographer of the Year Award: Tom Dickson

    (Source for the above: Lynn Rutherford's Twitter)

    @ProfSk8rsAssoc tweeted last night:
    "Developmental Coach of the Year Tammy Gambill #psa75chicago" http://pic.twitter.com/FTtSqM7hHb

    Gambill coached 2013 U.S. Junior Men's champ Vincent Zhou and Novice Ladies' champ Tyler Pierce as well as Shotaro Omori to his U.S. Junior Men's silver and Junior Worlds bronze and Amy Lin to her U.S. Novice silver medal (plus many others at the Junior and lower levels). Gambill also won this award last year and now has won it 3 times total.

    Pieter Kollen Sport Science Award for use of scientific technology in figure skating: Christy Krall

    The Betty Berens Award: Darin Hosier
    Presented to a coach who has overcome adversity - physical or emotional - and who has continued in dedication and perseverance to serve their profession with dignity and fortitude.
    Source: http://www.fsuniverse.net/forum/showthread.php?88201-Skate-For-Coach-Darin-Hosier

    Sonja Henie Award: Tanith Belbin
    (Tweeted by @ProfSk8rsAssoc last night)
    Presented to a female, professional skater who has brought recognition to the sport in a positive and favorable manner.

    Gustave Lussi Award: Michael Weiss
    Presented to a male, professional skater who has brought recognition to the sport in a positive and favorable manner.

    F. Ritter Shumway Award: Benjamin Wright
    Presented to a person who has earned distinction for unending dedication and significant contribution to the world of figure skating.
    Last edited: May 25, 2013
  2. aftershocks

    aftershocks Well-Known Member

    Thanks for the info, and congratulations to the honorees. :)
  3. l'etoile

    l'etoile New Member

    Thank you for the info. It's always delightful to hear great news like this:cheer: Congrats to every winner!
  4. Jun Y

    Jun Y Well-Known Member

    Hmm, are the EDI awards already given out? I can't even find a news release online with a list of nominees. In past years nominations were announced publicly before the awards. I wonder why it's so low profile this year.
  5. shan

    shan Well-Known Member

    alilou and (deleted member) like this.
  6. mgobluegirl

    mgobluegirl Well-Known Member

    I'm surprised Gambill has only won developmental coach of the year 3 times. It seems that every year at nationals she has a large group of great young skaters.

    Still, what a great achievement for her.
  7. Jessica

    Jessica Well-Known Member

    Really glad for Tanith.
    alilou and (deleted member) like this.
  8. Garden Kitty

    Garden Kitty Tranquillo

    Congrats to all the winners. Nice to see Weiss recognized for his efforts to give back to skating.
    alilou and (deleted member) like this.
  9. Sylvia

    Sylvia Still recovering from Worlds...

    To clarify: These were the "Best Performance" EDI awards that are announced separately from the Coach/Choreographer/Dev. Coach of the Year awards. I looked for a list of nominees on PSA's Facebook page (where they were published in early May last year) but didn't find a similar list of nominees this year.

    Here's a list of all the PSA EDI award winners through 2012 (announced at the dinner at the PSA's annual conference in May): http://www.skatepsa.com/PSA-EDI-AWARDS.htm

    I posted a link to a photo of Michael Weiss and Darin Hosier with their EDI awards in Chicago in the "Skate For Coach Darin Hosier" thread: http://www.fsuniverse.net/forum/sho...Darin-Hosier&p=3929418&viewfull=1#post3929418
    Last edited: May 27, 2013
  10. paskatefan

    paskatefan Well-Known Member

    Congrats to all the recipients! :encore:
  11. nylynnr

    nylynnr Well-Known Member

    For any interested in the full list of pros honored by PSA, some of whom have already been acknowledged in this thread:

    1) Developmental Coach of the Year
    -Tammy Gambill
    2) Sonja Henje Award
    -Tanith Belbin
    3) Photo of the Year
    -Mark Walentiny
    4) The Fritz Dietl Award for Arena Excellence
    -Colorado Springs World Arena Ice Hall
    5) F. Ritter Shumway Award
    -Ben Wright
    6) The Joe Serafine National Volunteer of the Year Award
    -Denise Williamson
    7) The Betty Berens Award
    -Darin Hosier
    8) The Pieter Kollen Sport Science Award
    -Christy Krall
    9) The Jimmy Disbrow Distinguished Official of the Year Award
    -Wendy Weston Enzmann
    10) Gustave Lussi Award
    -Michael Weiss
    11) Paul McGrath Choreographer of the Year Award
    -Tom Dickson
    12) The Hall of Fame Early Influences Award
    -Nathan Wally
    -Willie Frick
    -Willy Boeckl
    13) The Coach of the Year Award
    -Christy Krall

    Coach of the Year nominations:
    -Bobby Martin/Carrie Wall
    -Marina Zoueva
    -Saga Krantz
    -Christy Krall
    -Mark Mitchell/Peter Johansson

    Choreographer of the Year nominations:
    -Scott Brown
    -Saga Krantz
    -Marina Zoueva
    -Cindy Stuart
    -Tom Dickson
  12. Jun Y

    Jun Y Well-Known Member

    Thanks so much for the nomination lists! I'm glad Cindy Stuart and Bobby Martin got recognized. They've done some very nice work recently. Also I love Sheryl Franks' work with Wesley Campbell last season.
    Last edited: May 28, 2013
  13. Sylvia

    Sylvia Still recovering from Worlds...