Wine

Discussion in 'Off The Beaten Track' started by myhoneyhoney, Feb 17, 2011.

1. myhoneyhoney

myhoneyhoney Well-Known Member

A long time friend of mine had opened up an entirely new world to me: wine. I'm lucky enough to live where the Napa Valley and Livermore wineries are just minutes away from home. I really can't remember the names of the wines I've tasted but I do know that I tend to like reds best. I started wine tasting just a couple weeks ago so I'm very new at this and am still learning the lingo, how to "taste" the wine, etc.

Now how about you? Is there a particular type that you like? Reds? Whites? Do you have a favorite brand? List away!

2. IceAlisa

IceAlisa Épaulement!!!

My first wine revelation experience was a long time ago when I tried the Coppola Rubicon (forgot the exact vintage, early 90s). I had a glass of that and all of a sudden realized what all the brouhaha was all about. It was so complex and interesting and delicious.

Another eye opening experience was in NYC at a bar where I had a chilled glass of Sauvignon Blanc (forgot the maker and the vintage) which is now my favorite white.

Unfortunately, I can't drink California reds--instant headache. Ironically, with all the food Nazis residing in North Cal, the wine is full of sulfites and other things that cause headaches. So when it comes to reds, it's gotta be imported.

One of my favorite Italian wines is Amarone, more info here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Amarone

Last edited: Feb 17, 2011
  3. Allskate

Allskate Well-Known Member

I can't drink the California reds either. I get a rash.

4. UMBS Go Blue

UMBS Go Blue KWEEN 2016! YES WE KWAN!

I live in Silicon Valley and have gotten into wine too! :psoty: