Results 1 to 20 of 20
  1. #1
    aka IceSkate98
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Somewhere in the Twilight Zone
    Posts
    6,992
    vCash
    12630
    Rep Power
    90752

    Serious IE bug leaves all browsers open to hack

    I had received an e-mail about this on Saturday. I found this article when I went to my MSN homepage this morning. Apparently, this bug can possibly affect Internet Explorer 6 through Internet Explorer 11.

    There was also a suggestion from the Homeland Security for all users of Internet Explorer to use another browser until Microsoft can figure out a way to get it fixed. I just downloaded Mozilla Firefox earlier, and that's the browser I'm using right now. It seems to be working very well with Windows 7 so far. I may decide to start using Firefox as my default browser since this hacking problem has come up.

    The article also suggested to not use Adobe Flash in Internet Explorer because it could also be vulnerable to attacks. That's another reason I've switched to Firefox. I still want to be able to watch videos, and without Adobe Flash in IE, it would be impossible to watch them.

    http://www.nbcnews.com/tech/security...en-hack-n91281
    Angie
    “I have not failed. I’ve just found 10,000 ways that won’t work.” ~ Thomas A. Edison

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Walking to Work
    Posts
    25,842
    vCash
    500
    Rep Power
    32560
    That's another reason I've switched to Firefox.
    I'm just sayin'...I haven't used IE on a regular basis in months.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Age
    43
    Posts
    16,643
    vCash
    500
    Rep Power
    0
    I have used it once in months because I prefer my iPad anyway.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    24,950
    vCash
    500
    Rep Power
    91872
    I don't use IE at home, but at work we are using IE (latest version). Until 2 weeks ago we didn't even have the Mozilla Firefox option. So far i have not heard from our IT dept about this bug, but I trust it to be true. Thanks for the warning.

  5. #5
    aka IceSkate98
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Somewhere in the Twilight Zone
    Posts
    6,992
    vCash
    12630
    Rep Power
    90752
    Vash, here is another article about it from CNet.

    http://www.cnet.com/news/stop-using-...fixed-says-us/

    I'm definitely using FireFox until I hear otherwise that Microsoft has come up with a solution or security update.
    Angie
    “I have not failed. I’ve just found 10,000 ways that won’t work.” ~ Thomas A. Edison

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Rejecting your reality and substituting my own
    Age
    30
    Posts
    11,005
    vCash
    500
    Rep Power
    0
    Haven't used IE in over 10 years, except at work because the intranet only worked with IE. There are SO many better options now. First I used Opera, then Firefox, now Chrome because it works fastest on my computer. All are better options than IE!

  7. #7
    aka IceSkate98
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Somewhere in the Twilight Zone
    Posts
    6,992
    vCash
    12630
    Rep Power
    90752
    Anita, I'm afraid that I had always used IE up until about a month ago. I had never tried FireFox until then. I had started using it on my Windows XP laptop until April 8th came along. I found that I love FireFox. So, it wasn't a hard decision for me to start using it on my Windows 7 laptop.
    Angie
    “I have not failed. I’ve just found 10,000 ways that won’t work.” ~ Thomas A. Edison

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Petaluma, CA
    Posts
    5,618
    vCash
    500
    Rep Power
    8129
    I have been using FireFox for years, and I love it. Simone, you shouldn't have a problem with it. I have found it to be user friendly, and reliable. i recommend it to the clients for whom i do tech support.
    DH - and that's just my opinion

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    The big baked apple
    Posts
    781
    vCash
    500
    Rep Power
    1106
    My debit card got used for an online purchase from LEGO of all places on Friday and I'm wondering if I got hacked at work where I use Explorer - it has been a nightmare trying to use other browsers because of the Firewall they have. Our IT guy is off site and I've been waiting all day for him to get back to me.

    At any rate, I got a new debit card & number from the Bank and I spent the weekend changing all my passwords and user names at any site that I use my debit card for payment but I didn't realize IE was a problem and I hope I don't have to do this change all over again.

    Thanks for the heads up - I am being much more careful now.

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    West of the 5th...
    Posts
    29,328
    vCash
    100
    Rep Power
    41928
    I use IE only when I absolutely have to. We have a couple sites in our organization that don't like Chrome much. We're gradually moving to Chrome because we are using Google Apps. I've been using Chrome at home for quite some time now. I did use Firefox for a long time, but it seemed to become a real resource hog. I guess they're all resource hogs in one way or another now.
    Haunting the Princess of Pink since 20/07/11...

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Cali baby
    Posts
    1,845
    vCash
    500
    Rep Power
    0
    I gave up on IE years ago too. I've been using Chrome for more than 5 years now.

  12. #12
    garden freak
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    in a drift
    Posts
    1,811
    vCash
    500
    Rep Power
    600
    I have a question for people with more techie knowledge than me. I switched someone from IE to chrome but now he is getting a lot more really annoying ad popups. Anyone have a suggestion of a decent ad blocker for chrome? He would like it to be free. I think he is OK with a few ads, but it is really bad. Thanks for any help.

  13. #13
    aka IceSkate98
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Somewhere in the Twilight Zone
    Posts
    6,992
    vCash
    12630
    Rep Power
    90752
    Quote Originally Posted by AxelAnnie View Post
    I have been using FireFox for years, and I love it. Simone, you shouldn't have a problem with it. I have found it to be user friendly, and reliable. i recommend it to the clients for whom i do tech support.
    Thanks for sharing that. I'm also finding out that it is very user friendly. I also like the way it downloads compared to the way downloads are done with IE.
    Angie
    “I have not failed. I’ve just found 10,000 ways that won’t work.” ~ Thomas A. Edison

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    914
    vCash
    500
    Rep Power
    660
    I know this is totally lame, but does Firefox work kind of like IE? Is it easy to make favorites? A couple of years ago I had to use Firefox because Icenetwork wouldn't work with IE. It seems like after I installed FF I had to do a lot of java and various update for FF. Tried Chrome on my husband's desktop and hated it. Couldn't seem to figure out much of anything.

    Anyway any advice for someone that is ok with IE (except for this stupid bug) and isn't very anxious to learn new stuff? Oh, I am running Windows 7 on this laptop....if that matters.

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Rejecting your reality and substituting my own
    Age
    30
    Posts
    11,005
    vCash
    500
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Lizziebeth View Post
    I have a question for people with more techie knowledge than me. I switched someone from IE to chrome but now he is getting a lot more really annoying ad popups. Anyone have a suggestion of a decent ad blocker for chrome? He would like it to be free. I think he is OK with a few ads, but it is really bad. Thanks for any help.
    I use Adblock for everything. It's so good that it's able to block video ads from playing on many streaming video pages. (No luck on Hulu though!)

    Quote Originally Posted by maureenfarone View Post
    I know this is totally lame, but does Firefox work kind of like IE? Is it easy to make favorites? A couple of years ago I had to use Firefox because Icenetwork wouldn't work with IE. It seems like after I installed FF I had to do a lot of java and various update for FF. Tried Chrome on my husband's desktop and hated it. Couldn't seem to figure out much of anything.

    Anyway any advice for someone that is ok with IE (except for this stupid bug) and isn't very anxious to learn new stuff? Oh, I am running Windows 7 on this laptop....if that matters.
    For Chrome and Firefox (and probably for Opera, although I don't recall exactly), it isn't called "Favorites" but "Bookmarks." Every browser has the capability of saving sites so you can go to them later. Chrome doesn't use Java so you don't have to download anything related to that, so that may be your best bet. Even if you hated it the first time. (Sorry!) On Chrome, there's a hollow star icon on the URL bar that you click to automatically bookmark something. It's also really good at remembering your history, so you can start typing part of a URL and it'll find it in your recent history or bookmarks.

    IE is by far the least secure and most buggy browser (at least for web designers!). They seem to be super-slow at adapting certain web standards. I guess the reason why people still use it is because it DOESN'T change, but you can't abide by that in this day and age. Everything's changing so fast, and you bet some of those changes aren't good for unaware consumers.

    Chrome is more minimalistic than the other browsers, so you'll have to click around on it more. But most everything can be found on the menu bar.

  16. #16

    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    La Belle Province
    Age
    36
    Posts
    13,377
    vCash
    500
    Rep Power
    3763
    Quote Originally Posted by Lizziebeth View Post
    I have a question for people with more techie knowledge than me. I switched someone from IE to chrome but now he is getting a lot more really annoying ad popups. Anyone have a suggestion of a decent ad blocker for chrome? He would like it to be free. I think he is OK with a few ads, but it is really bad. Thanks for any help.
    Here you go. https://chrome.google.com/webstore/d...biglidom?hl=en

  17. #17
    garden freak
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    in a drift
    Posts
    1,811
    vCash
    500
    Rep Power
    600
    Thank you Anita and Lara. I installed it and it stopped the annoying flickering ads, what a relief.

  18. #18
    aka IceSkate98
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Somewhere in the Twilight Zone
    Posts
    6,992
    vCash
    12630
    Rep Power
    90752
    Another thing that I liked about Firefox was that there was an option to transfer all of your favorites from IE to Firefox when I first installed it. I didn't have to go searching for my favorites and add them to Firefox. They are called "Bookmarks" with Firefox which was okay with me.
    Angie
    “I have not failed. I’ve just found 10,000 ways that won’t work.” ~ Thomas A. Edison

  19. #19

    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    West of the 5th...
    Posts
    29,328
    vCash
    100
    Rep Power
    41928
    Quote Originally Posted by Simone411 View Post
    Another thing that I liked about Firefox was that there was an option to transfer all of your favorites from IE to Firefox when I first installed it. I didn't have to go searching for my favorites and add them to Firefox. They are called "Bookmarks" with Firefox which was okay with me.
    IIRC, you can do that with Chrome too.
    Haunting the Princess of Pink since 20/07/11...

  20. #20
    garden freak
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    in a drift
    Posts
    1,811
    vCash
    500
    Rep Power
    600
    Quote Originally Posted by Really View Post
    IIRC, you can do that with Chrome too.
    Yes you can. There is a place on the chrome bookmarks that asks if you want to import bookmarks from IE or someplace else. I imported and said to put it on the chrome bookmarks bar and the title is something like 'imported from IE.' Everything is there and it works fine.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •