They did not tie.
There were several layers of tiebreakers for various points along the procedure for calculating results.
(let me know if you'd like a briefer summary)
In this instance there was just one instance of the first tiebreaker in the very first step of calculating results -- within a single judge's rankings.
It just happened to be judge #9 in the freeskate.
But by the time you get to the second step calculating ordinals for the freeskate, there was no need for tiebreakers, let alone in later steps.