vCash

Vaitsekhovskaya's interview with Zhulin

`The gap between the leaders and my team is not so huge anymore' Vaitsekhovskaya talks to Zhulin for sport-express.ru

EV: Alexandr , many of your colleagues are leaving Russia with their pupils (for the summer). You, on the other hand, prefer to train in Moscow. Why?
    AZ: It's just a tradition in our group. We finish choreographing the new programmes in May, then go for a short vacation and then gather in Latvia and start working on the Original Dance. The conditions in Moscow are perfect- we have 7-8 hours of the ice a day. What's the point going somewhere? Besides, I have a little kid.

EV: I had an impression you had some ideas for Bobrova/Soloviev's FD long before the season was over?
    AZ: Since January. I have to thank Igor Orshuliak, who I've been working with for several years now. Many of our ideas happened thanks to him. Including Bobrova/Soloviev's previous season FD. That, by the way, answers the question what shows such as `Ice Age' contribute to the skating. They contribute a lot. It was there Orshuliak and I and I choreographed the `Requiem for a Dream' for Tatiana Arntolts and Maksim Staviski - it was about an addicted girl and her beloved. The same idea was taken for Bobrova/Soloviev's FD. It was Orshuliak's idea, he understands there must be a beginning, culmination and the ending of the story. It's exactly what I always thought.

EV: Taking the CoP in the account many think the programme should, first of all, be choreographed according to the rules.
    AZ: It's not enough. Look how many talks Katia and Dima's programme inspired. Some loved it, some hated - but it was talked about during the whole season. It was taken as a piece of art. Not just a set of elements they had to do. The programme with no theme will be taken as that by the viewers. I.e. it will not really be accepted or remembered.