View Poll Results: Are you in favor of Armed Gaurds?

Voters
73. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

6 8.22%
  • No

62 84.93%
  • I'm not so sure.

5 6.85%
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    vCash

Are you in favor of Armed Gaurds in Schools?

Ok,they have been talking about this on the News. So I thought I would try turning it into a Thread. But..in the aftermath oth the Sandy Hook School Shooting..are you in favor of Armed Gaurds in Schools?

vCash
    I say hire Art teachers instead of armed guards.

vCash

To Art teachers

Argle-Bargle-ist
    vCash
    MAKE ART NOT WAR!!!
    It's official. I am madly in love with Meryl Davis.

vCash
    Okay, I'm a teacher, so I'll answer this the best I can. For about seven years, my school (I teach high school) had a police officer in the school and he carried a gun. And a taser. The kids were more frightened of the taser, interestingly. I don't like guns, but I'd like to assume (though I know I could be utterly wrong) that are cops are pretty well trained in gun use, and I wasn't worried about him shooting anyone.

I would worry a bit more about an armed security guard, because sometimes (not always!) security guards are cop wannabes who didn't make the cut, and I would prefer that those people not have access to anything more dangerous than string.

And also remember, there was an armed officer at Columbine, for all the good that did.

So I guess my point is, am I in favor of armed guards in schools? No. But having one in my school wasn't some big trauma, either.

vCash
    If we start arming gaurds, it's only fair to arm pumpkins too.

Beach Bum
    vCash
    Gourds?
    I think I will have a snack and take a nap before I eat and go to sleep.

vCash
    Quote Originally Posted by Rob View Post
    Gourds?
    Glad someone got it.

vCash
    Quote Originally Posted by Buzz View Post
    I say hire Art teachers instead of armed guards.
    What, because it's easy to take down a shooter with a paintbrush?