When is a jump (or other) element considered completed?
At Worlds there were three (at least) situations like this:
Vartmann/Van Cleave - throw 3salchow - FS (solid landing, nice extension, then suddenly fell)
Mae Berenic Meite - 3flip - FS (high and solid, then suddenly stumbled)
Max Aaron - 3axel - FS (landed it very well but then crashed into the boards)
In all of these situations, I have made a personal call that those jumps were completed by the time the mistake has taken place. That is because the landings were solid and they were held for a while, showing the skater had control, before the freak error happened.
But that's just me. What would a referee say? Is it written in the rules somewhere?
There is nothing stopping a skater from holding the landing for a short while and then doing a transitions hence I don't see the reason to deduct for such freak errors on the GOE.