vCash

New York Drivers - insurance question

Hi all,

I recently moved to Brooklyn. I've lived in New York for over a year and had my car stored at my uncle's, but due to changes in circumstances, I've brought it to where I live. Parking isn't really a problem. I'm a safe driver and have never had a ticket or car accident. For the moment, I mostly drive to get groceries, visit friends/family in Flushing, LI or NJ, and in the fall, I'll hopefully drive it to my internship. Other relevant data: I'm 23, female, single, renting, yada yada yada. Car is an 2009 Nissan Sentra.

I'm looking for new insurance. Before I lived in OK, and had pretty good insurance. However, it's regional, and I don't believe this company would cover me if I live in NY. I pay nearly $250 a month, and that's always been expensive compared to others I know. However, that seems cheap compared to the rates I'm getting now! I've looked at Allstate, Progressive, Geico, Mercury, Travelers and Farmers, and the rates I'm getting are astronomical. It's, like, over $600 a month, which I definitely can't afford.

So my questions are:

a.) What insurance company do you have? (especially if you live in New York) How much do you pay, if you don't mind me asking?
    b.) Is insurance generally this expensive in New York City?
    c.) Would I get better rates if I call rather than do online quotes?

Thanks. I'm just having such a hard time believing that car insurance is this expensive! And here I thought that I was always way overcharged...
    Adelina Sotnikova is the 2014 Olympic champion!

vCash
    A) I have Traveler's. I was with Progressive for a few years, but I was able to get the exact same policy with Traveler's for half the price. My premium is $91.50/month. I also get a discount because I take the AAA definsive driving course every couple of years, which will knock your premium down a bit. It lowered my premium by $37 last May.