vCash

Photo Retouching

Hi guys! I have what I hope is a quick/easy question. I have a couple of pixes on my computer that I want to retouch (remove gray from hair) and crop people out of. What software is best for this? I want to post them online (possibly). I have a PC, not a Mac. is this software that I might already have or will I need to purchase something new? Simplicity is the key word here--I am new to all of this. Thanks for your help.
    The privilege of a lifetime is being who you are--Joseph Campbell

vCash
    When you say "cropping people out" do you mean cropping the frame so it cuts them off, or do you mean deleting them and putting something else in that space? If the latter, that requires some pretty hefty software. The only ones I'm aware of are Photoshop and Gimp.

vCash
    Yeah, to do a decent photo editing job, Photoshop is the way to go in my opinion.

It's pricey software, but it's a big investment that pays off in the long run.

For more simplicity, I'd recommend getting Lightroom. The interface is a little more intuitive for people with little experience in photo retouching.

It has all the essentials: cropping, make photos brighter, more colorful, etc.

But like Gazpacho said, if you meant cutting and pasting things in and out of images, then Photoshop is much better suited.

Official FSU Alte Kacher
    vCash
    Cropping is usually easily done. You might even have software already in your Windows software. Lightroom would be my vote for simplicity. But if you are looking to remove something from a photo, to clone them out, then the heftily priced Photoshop or the freeware Gimp (gimp.org) are needed. But neither are simple software.
    "Nothing in all the world is more dangerous than sincere ignorance and conscientious stupidity”– MLK

Two places! Atlanta suburbs and in the North Georgia Mountains
    vCash