Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Wine

vCash

Wine

A long time friend of mine had opened up an entirely new world to me: wine. I'm lucky enough to live where the Napa Valley and Livermore wineries are just minutes away from home. I really can't remember the names of the wines I've tasted but I do know that I tend to like reds best. I started wine tasting just a couple weeks ago so I'm very new at this and am still learning the lingo, how to "taste" the wine, etc.

Now how about you? Is there a particular type that you like? Reds? Whites? Do you have a favorite brand? List away!

Port de bras!!!
    vCash
    My first wine revelation experience was a long time ago when I tried the Coppola Rubicon (forgot the exact vintage, early 90s). I had a glass of that and all of a sudden realized what all the brouhaha was all about. It was so complex and interesting and delicious.

Another eye opening experience was in NYC at a bar where I had a chilled glass of Sauvignon Blanc (forgot the maker and the vintage) which is now my favorite white.

Unfortunately, I can't drink California reds--instant headache. Ironically, with all the food Nazis residing in North Cal, the wine is full of sulfites and other things that cause headaches. So when it comes to reds, it's gotta be imported.

One of my favorite Italian wines is Amarone, more info here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Amarone
    Last edited by IceAlisa; 02-17-2011 at 08:28 PM.
    "Nature is a damp, inconvenient sort of place where birds and animals wander about uncooked."

from Speedy Death

vCash
    Quote Originally Posted by IceAlisa View Post
    Unfortunately, I can't drink California reds--instant headache. Ironically, with all the food Nazis residing in North Cal, the wine is full of sulfites and other things that cause headaches. So when it comes to reds, it's gotta be imported.
    I can't drink the California reds either. I get a rash.

KWEEN 2016! YES WE KWAN!
    vCash