I don't remember what Shawn actually did. But if the protocol's 1Lo was Shawn's half loop, then it'll be a sequence. Because the 2nd jump (half loop) lands on LBI. The take off of the 3rd jump (3Loop) is on RBO. Shawn would have to put his other foot down to set up for the 3Loop. Because of that extra step down (from left foot to right foot) in between the 2nd and 3rd jumps, it's a sequence.
That's the same concept for 2A-2A SEQ. The first 2A lands on RBO, the second 2A takes off on LFO. So the step down to change foot from R to L (a choctaw in this case) makes it a sequence.
Sawyer's NHK Trophy FS protocol reads 3F+1Lo+3S+SEQ (9.15 BV) and he received 9.05 points for it. Is the +SEQ part wrong?
Oh sorry, I missed seeing RFOS' reply above.
HisWeirness found rules explicitly stating that only the first two jumps are going to be called in a jump sequence.
That's what S/S have been told by their fed tech specialist with regards to their planned 3toe...3toe...2axel sequence.