What is the Eurovision Song Contest?

The biggest music event in the whole wide world baby! Members of the European Broadcasting Union (EBU) submit songs (one per country) annually to compete for points which are decided on by television viewers in each of the participating countries. The winning country gets the honour to host the show the following year. Famous former winners include ABBA (Sweden, 1974)and Celine Dion (Switzerland, 1988).

It also coincides nicely with the end of the skating season when some of us are going through costume and performance voids withdrawal.

The 55th edition of the contest this year will be held in Oslo, Norway on 25 May (First Semi-Final), 27 May (Second Semi-Final) and 29 May (Grand Final).

Local Time
What time is it in Oslo?

- Official Site
- The Official FSU 2010 Eurovision Thread
- Preview Videos (Semi-Final 1) Playlist
- Preview Videos (Semi-Final 2) Playlist

Grand Final Voting

All countries vote on the countries that have qualified for the final. However, if your country is one of the finalists, you cannot vote for yourself. Voting is in the 12, 10, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 format. PM allezfred your votes.

1. Belarus - "Butterflies" by 3+2
2. Spain - "Algo pequeñito" by Daniel Diges
3. Norway - "My heart is yours" by Didrik Solli-Tangen
4. Switzerland - "Il pleut de l'or" by Michael von der Heide
5. Greece - "OPA" by Giorgos Alkaios & Friends
6. Israel - "Milim" by Harel Skaat
7. Romania - "Playing with fire" by Paula Seling & Ovi
8. Denmark - "In a moment like this" by Chanée & N'evergreen
9. Croatia - "Lako je sve" by Feminnem
10. Portugal - "Há dias assim" by Filipa Azevedo
11. Cyprus - "Life looks better in spring" by Jon Lilygreen & The Islanders
12. United Kingdom - "That sounds good to me" by Josh Dubovie
13. Armenia - "Apricot Stone" by Eva Rivas
14. Azerbaijan - "Drip-drop" by Safura
15. Ireland - "It's for you" by Niamh Kavanagh
16. Belgium - "Me and my guitar by Tom Dice
17. Turkey - "We could be the same" by maNga
18. France - "Allez, ola, ole" by Jessy Matador
19. Iceland - "Je ne sais quoi" by Hera Björk
20. Latvia - "What for?" by Aisha
21. Moldova - "Run away" by Sun Stroke Project & Olia Tira
22. Germany - "Satellite" by Lena Meyer-Landrut
23. Slovakia - "Horehronie" by Kristina
24. Albania - "It's all about you by Juliana Pasha
25. Serbia - "Ovo je Balkan by Milan Stankovic




Semi-Finals Voting
For the semis you only can vote on the countries in your semi and you cannot vote for yourself. Voting is in the 12, 10, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 format. PM allezfred your votes.

Whoever picks France, Germany or Spain will vote in Semi 1 and whoever picks Norway or UK gets to vote in Semi 2.

Voting Deadline For Semis: 30 April 2010

First Semi-Final
1.Moldova - Jiro
2.Russia - equatorial
3.Estonia - Mr. allezfred
4.Slovakia - senzafine371
5.Finland - Hanna
6.Latvia - Beefcake
7.Serbia - Megi
8.Bosnia and Herzegovina - Jenya
9.Poland - shah
10.Belgium - pat c
11.Malta - Lisa
12.Albania - mila19
13.Greece - Garden Kitty
14.Portugal - MikiAndoFan#1
15.FYR Macedonia - fragoletta
16.Belarus - sbanet
17.Iceland - Finnice

Voting also in Semi 1:

France - uyeahu
Germany - Kian
Spain - sweetsparky




Second Semi-Final
1.Lithuania - sodapop
2.Armenia - Hindernisse
3.Israel - Eden
4.Denmark - argarit
5.Switzerland - Jackie Sparrow
6.Sweden - Ziggy
7.Azerbaijan - Braulio
8.Ukraine - allezfred
9.The Netherlands - Fergus
10.Romania - Nmsis
11.Slovenia - Tamas
12.Ireland - poths
13.Bulgaria - Reuven
14.Cyprus - my little pony
15.Croatia - HisWeirness
16.Georgia - TAHbKA
17.Turkey - Orable

Also voting in Semi 2:

Norway - itsartemis
United Kingdom - SHARPIE



Once everybody has voted, allezfred will announce the Top 10 from each semi-final. The countries will be drawn at random from a and everybody will vote on those 20 entries again plus the entries from the Big 4 (France, Germany, Spain, United Kingdom) and Norway. Again votes are to be sent by PM to allezfred.