Where Should a Beginner Practice?

Discussion in 'Moves In The Field' started by Tiffany, Apr 12, 2012.

1. Tiffany

Tiffany New Member

Ok, so I have been skating for about 2 months now. I am doing backward crossovers and backward edges on the circle still. I feel most safe practicing these techniques on a hockey circle, because I am still learning and have a hard time stopping sometimes. I figure this allows other skaters to skate around me and keeps me from running into them. There is a problem though, I understand that the corners are where most advanced skaters practice their jumps. I find myself in their way at times and do my best to move, but I still feel bad about it. I was thinking I could practice around the middle circle, but I have been told that the middle is more for advanced skaters?

With that said, does anyone have any suggestions as to where I should be practicing my techniques as a beginner? Should I just start skating around the rink like everyone else? Most of the skaters at my rink are advanced, so I really have no one to relate to on this issue. Sorry if this seems like a dumb question, but I'm starting to feel tension with other more advanced skaters on the ice, as well as one of the coaches when I happen to get in their way.

2. gkelly

gkelly Well-Known Member

Is this a public session with lots of non-figure skaters as well? Or is it a session just for figure skaters? The traffic patterns and right of way would be different.

If you're on a freestyle session with skaters doing jumps in all corners of the ice, then make sure you don't stay in one corner the whole time. Practice on one circle for maybe 5 minutes at a time, being aware of the traffic patterns and getting out of the way if someone is coming at you fast to set up a jump, and then move to a different circle in another part of the ice.