Since the Split Pair rule only applies to the ISU Grand Prix, I'll assume you mean GP. How exactly did Y/R "attain a Team USA spot"? "Team USA" is only entitled to three spots (at Skate America), and Y/R haven't been assigned to any of them yet (there's a TBA open, based on how the summer goes). The rest of the spots are earned by specific skaters: every one of the Pairs entitled to one or two has been assigned to one or two, and the pairs that haven't been assigned, haven't earned them. There are Pairs from other countries that higher on the SB list than US pairs on the list. Why do you assume that if Y/R hadn't gotten a Split Couple spot that the spot would have gone to another US team? While I don't expect Y/R to be another D/C, who got their second GP spot as a Split Couple last year, Y/R have been together for a short time, and by November, a little more than three months away, they'll have been together twice as long as they have now. US Nationals are another two months away. While I don't expect them to be competitive this year, or even get a GP minimum at CoC, they've earned the right to be there.