The Gardening Thread

Discussion in 'Off The Beaten Track' started by mkats, Apr 15, 2010.

1. mkats

mkats New Member

:cheer2:

I'm currently in the process of figuring out where everything's going to go in my tiny vegetable garden this summer! Eggplants are definitely in - these are Asian elongated eggplants, and it's my first time trying them so I'm super excited! Last year's eggplants didn't work out quite so well, that's about as big as they got :lol: These babies are probably going out in the garden in about two weeks or so, I actually don't know how big they are now since I took them all home over spring break and will have to rely on my mom to plant them out :drama:

My current project is tomatoes - I have 24 seedlings right now :eek: I think about 6 of them are yellow pears and the rest are Oregon Springs. I don't have an updated pic of this year's seedlings but I'll upload one tomorrow (I like to take a pic every Sunday and save them all so I can compare progress from year to year. I think we're actually a bit behind schedule this year because the temperatures have fluctuated so much and now we're at 40 degrees at night again :(

I love basil and can't wait until I have pesto. This is a pic from a few months ago - I've given away the two smaller containers and kept the ones in the orange juice container (yay recycling!), and those are now probably about 5-6 inches tall and will go in the garden as soon as I get home. Last year's plants got to about 2 feet tall each!

I planted spinach and Swiss Chard and Chinese broccoli when I was home for spring break - Mom says the seedlings are coming up, but I haven't gotten to see them yet. Swiss Chard is a summer staple in my house for salads and stirfries and everything that requires greens, but after three summers of it I'm a little tired of it, so we're trying some new stuff too :)