The Bookless Library Has Arrived...

Discussion in 'Off The Beaten Track' started by nubka, Jul 11, 2011.

1. nubka

nubka Well-Known Member

Last edited: Jul 11, 2011
    IceAlisa and (deleted member) like this.
  2. mindy74

mindy74 Well-Known Member

I think it makes more sense in an academic setting, as Drexel's is (my alma mater). I'm a public librarian, and while we've definitely seen a higher demand for e-books, most of these people still want to check out "regular" books too. I don't foresee most public libraries (especially bigger ones, like mine) becoming bookless in the near future. There may be a few here and there who experiment with it, though.

The major area that books will be leaving is reference. I still go the reference stacks once in awhile, but for the most part, subscription databases have taken over. It's sad because our library has a wonderful, huge collection and it's hard to let it go but it's just not used like it was even 5 years ago. Students just prefer using the databases, and they can access them 24/7 from home, and the materials often comes straight from the books--so who can blame them? Of course we are keeping our local history and anything rare/valuable but most of it will go into our circulating collection.

3. Andrushka

Andrushka New Member

It's not great.At all. :( I don't want electronic I want Books!No batteries,turn my own freakin pages books!

4. Satellitegirl

Satellitegirl New Member

I like using my ereader for environmental purposes, but I really miss holding a book in my hand and seeing the progress as I turn the pages.

5. aliceanne

aliceanne Well-Known Member

I don't own an e-reader but it would certainly make sense for college textbooks. I remember buying all those heavy expensive books that went out of date so fast you couldn't always re-sell them at the end of the term.

6. Prancer

Prancer The "specialness" that is Staff Member