Skate Guard (Updates, New Blogs & Interviews)

Discussion in 'Great Skate Debate' started by N_Halifax, Jun 27, 2013.

  1. N_Halifax

    N_Halifax Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    776
    Since I've been doing a lot of skater interviews on my newish blog "Is That A Skate Guard In Your Pocket Or Are You Happy To See Me?" at http://www.facebook.com/SkateGuard and http://skateguard1.blogspot.ca, I figured it was easier to just share the interviews for all of you in one thread here as opposed to making a new thread about each skater or interview. I want to thank all of you who have sent words of encouragement and thanks for the interviews and historical writing I've been doing since I started this little project and offer my apologies to the one (1) of you who took the time to complain. ;)

    The most recent two I've been fortunate enough to do were with Wesley Campbell (http://skateguard1.blogspot.ca/2013/06/interview-with-wesley-campbell.html) and Douglas Razzano (http://skateguard1.blogspot.ca/2013/06/interview-with-douglas-razzano.html). For any of you who have missed them, here's a whole list of all the OTHER interviews I've done so far since the end of February:

    MEN'S SINGLES:

    Doug Mattis: http://skateguard1.blogspot.com/2013/03/interview-with-doug-mattis.html
    Parker Pennington: http://skateguard1.blogspot.com/2013/03/interview-with-parker-pennington.html
    Craig Heath: http://skateguard1.blogspot.com/2013/03/interview-with-craig-heath.html
    Ben Ferreira: http://skateguard1.blogspot.com/2013/03/interview-with-ben-ferreira.html
    Grant Hochstein: http://skateguard1.blogspot.ca/2013/05/interview-with-grant-hochstein.html
    Sean Rabbitt: http://skateguard1.blogspot.ca/2013/05/interview-with-sean-rabbitt.html
    Kevin Alves: http://skateguard1.blogspot.ca/2013/04/interview-with-kevin-alves.html
    Shepherd Clark: http://skateguard1.blogspot.com/2013/03/interview-with-shepherd-clark.html
    Michael Kuluva: http://skateguard1.blogspot.ca/2013/05/interview-with-michael-kuluva.html
    Russ Scott: http://skateguard1.blogspot.com/2013/03/interview-with-russ-scott.html
    John Hamer: http://skateguard1.blogspot.ca/2013/04/interview-with-john-hamer.html
    Johann Wilkinson: http://skateguard1.blogspot.ca/2013/05/interview-with-johann-wilkinson.html

    LADIES SINGLES:

    Rory Flack Burghart: http://skateguard1.blogspot.ca/2013/04/interview-with-rory-flack-burghart.html
    Karen Preston: http://skateguard1.blogspot.ca/2013/04/interview-with-karen-preston.html
    Jennifer Kirk: http://skateguard1.blogspot.com/2013/03/interview-with-jennifer-kirk.html
    Lucinda Ruh: http://skateguard1.blogspot.com/2013/03/interview-with-lucinda-ruh.html
    Krisztina Czako: http://skateguard1.blogspot.ca/2013/06/interview-with-krisztina-czako.html
    Ashley Cain: http://skateguard1.blogspot.com/2013/03/interview-with-ashley-cain.html
    Annie Bellemare: http://skateguard1.blogspot.ca/2013/02/2001-interviews-with-annie-bellemare.html
    Tugba Karademir: http://skateguard1.blogspot.ca/2013/05/interview-with-tugba-karademir.html
    Ami Parekh: http://skateguard1.blogspot.ca/2013/05/interview-with-ami-parekh.html
    Tanya Street-Burgess: http://skateguard1.blogspot.ca/2013/05/interview-with-tanya-street-burgess.html

    PAIRS SKATING:

    Tai Babilonia: http://skateguard1.blogspot.com/2013/03/interview-with-tai-babilonia.html
    Randy Gardner: http://skateguard1.blogspot.com/2013/03/interview-with-randy-gardner.html
    Anita Hartshorn: http://skateguard1.blogspot.ca/2013/06/interview-with-anita-hartshorn.html

    ICE DANCING:

    Barbara Berezowski: http://skateguard1.blogspot.com/2013/03/interview-with-barbara-berezowski.html
    Sara Hurtado Martin and Adrian Diaz Bronchud: http://skateguard1.blogspot.ca/2013/05/interview-with-sara-hurtado-martin-and.html
    Carter Jones and Richard Sharpe: http://skateguard1.blogspot.ca/2013/04/interview-with-carter-jones-and-richard.html
    Tory Patsis and Joe Johnson: http://skateguard1.blogspot.ca/2013/05/interview-with-tory-patsis-and-joe.html

    CHOREOGRAPHERS:

    Garrett Kling: http://skateguard1.blogspot.com/2013/03/interview-with-garrett-kling_5.html
    Kate McSwain: http://skateguard1.blogspot.ca/2013/06/interview-with-kate-mcswain.html

    COMMENTATORS/EXPERTS:

    PJ Kwong (CBC Sports): http://skateguard1.blogspot.com/2013/03/interview-with-pj-kwong.html
    Elaine Hooper (British Skating Historian): http://skateguard1.blogspot.ca/2013/06/interview-with-elaine-hooper.html
    Tony Wheeler (Flutzing Around): http://skateguard1.blogspot.com/2013/03/interview-with-tony-wheeler.html
    Allison Manley (ManleyWoman SkateCast):
    http://skateguard1.blogspot.com/2013/03/interview-with-allison-manley.html
    Jackie Wong (Examiner Skating): http://skateguard1.blogspot.com/2013/03/interview-with-jackie-wong.html

    I also have interviews with Lorna Brown, Simone Grigorescu-Alexander and many others included in articles or research I've done, so keep an eye out for that as well! If you have any suggestions for who you'd like to see me interview, e-mail me privately at N_N_23@hotmail.com. Thanks so much!
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2013
  2. N_Halifax

    N_Halifax Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    776
  3. N_Halifax

    N_Halifax Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    776
  4. N_Halifax

    N_Halifax Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    776
  5. N_Halifax

    N_Halifax Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    776
    New articles:

    Happy Birthday Michelle Kwan!: Her Impact And True "Legacy": http://skateguard1.blogspot.ca/2013/07/happy-birthday-michelle-kwan-her-impact.html
    Turning The Tables: Answering Your Questions!: http://skateguard1.blogspot.ca/2013/07/turning-tables-answering-your-questions.html
    Spotlight On Diane Towler-Green And Bernard Ford: The Mother And Father Of Modern Ice Dancing: http://skateguard1.blogspot.ca/2013/07/spotlight-on-diane-towler-green-and.html
    Christmas In July: http://skateguard1.blogspot.ca/2013/07/christmas-in-july.html
     
    fsey likes this.
  6. N_Halifax

    N_Halifax Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    776
  7. N_Halifax

    N_Halifax Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    776
  8. N_Halifax

    N_Halifax Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    776
  9. N_Halifax

    N_Halifax Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    776
    Recent good times on "Is That A Skate Guard In Your Pocket Or Are You Happy To See Me?":

    Interview With Jeremy Ten: http://skateguard1.blogspot.ca/2013/07/interview-with-jeremy-ten.html
    History Of The Miko Masters: http://skateguard1.blogspot.ca/2013/07/the-history-of-miko-masters.html
    Johnny Weir's Not The Only Sister With An Opinion On Sochi: http://skateguard1.blogspot.ca/2013/08/johnny-weir-not-only-sister-with.html
    Interview With Penny Coomes And Nicholas Buckland: http://skateguard1.blogspot.ca/2013/08/interview-with-penny-coomes-and.html
     
  10. N_Halifax

    N_Halifax Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    776
    More recent articles, including many focusing on skating history:

    Guess What Girl? It's A YAS YAS YAS YAS World!: http://skateguard1.blogspot.ca/2013/08/guess-what-girl-its-yas-yas-yas-yas.html
    Spotlight On Belita: http://skateguard1.blogspot.ca/2013/08/spotlight-on-belita.html
    The Royal Skating Mishap That Could Have Changed History: http://skateguard1.blogspot.ca/2013/08/the-royal-skating-mishap-that-could.html
    Interview With Yebin Mok: http://skateguard1.blogspot.ca/2013/08/interview-with-yebin-mok.html
    The Other Olympic Gold Medallists, Part 3: http://skateguard1.blogspot.ca/2013/08/the-other-olympic-gold-medallists-part-3.html
     
  11. leapfrogonice

    leapfrogonice Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Messages:
    574
    Nice to see more blogs committing their time and attention to skaters who wouldn't ordinarily be in the major portal headlines
     
    N_Halifax likes this.
  12. N_Halifax

    N_Halifax Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    776
    Glad you're appreciating the interviews, leapfrogonice. There's a whole lot more to good skating than talking about the top ten skaters in the world. I believe everyone has a story and an experience worth sharing and there's a lot more to talk about that the levels on people's spins or the GOE on people's jumps. People have been skating for hundreds of years. That's a lot to talk about! ;)
     
  13. N_Halifax

    N_Halifax Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    776
    More new goodies:

    Paranormal Skatetivity: From Haunted Rinks To Skating Ghosts... - http://skateguard1.blogspot.ca/2013/08/paranormal-skatetivity-from-haunted.html
    Interview With Alexe Gilles - http://skateguard1.blogspot.ca/2013/08/interview-with-alexe-gilles.html
    Interview With Stephanie Roth - http://skateguard1.blogspot.ca/2013/08/interview-with-stephanie-roth.html
    Hold On To Your Weaves! It's Time To Get Woven - YAS4 Challenge 2 Time!: http://skateguard1.blogspot.ca/2013/08/hold-on-to-your-weaves-its-time-to-get.html
     
  14. N_Halifax

    N_Halifax Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    776
    The latest! If you're enjoying these, give the blog a like at http://www.facebook.com/SkateGuard on Facebook!:

    Coming Full Circle: From Skating To Drag To Writing About Skating: http://skateguard1.blogspot.ca/2013/08/coming-full-circle-from-skating-to-drag.html
    Interview With Jimmy Morgan: http://skateguard1.blogspot.ca/2013/08/interview-with-jimmy-morgan.html
    Interview With Katherine Hill: http://skateguard1.blogspot.ca/2013/08/interview-with-katherine-hill.html
    Interview With Nanoha Sato: http://skateguard1.blogspot.ca/2013/08/interview-with-nanoha-sato.html
    Return To Open Pro Competitions (Part 3: The American Open Professional Figure Skating Championships): http://skateguard1.blogspot.ca/2013/08/return-to-open-pro-competitions-part-3.html
     
  15. aemeraldrainc

    aemeraldrainc Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    305
    Thank you for all your hard work in interviewing and researching! :)
     
    N_Halifax likes this.
  16. N_Halifax

    N_Halifax Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    776
    You're very welcome. It's a challenge at this point as I'm only in my first year of doing this but I'm having so much fun and learning so much as I go, as well as getting to meet some amazing skaters, coaches, choreographers and skating historians in the process.
     
  17. N_Halifax

    N_Halifax Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    776
    More new content:

    Interview With Lynn Kriengkrairut And Logan Giulietti-Schmitt: http://skateguard1.blogspot.ca/2013/08/interview-with-lynn-kriengkrairut-and.html
    Triumph Down Under And Shade In Manila: The Road To Nebelhorn: http://skateguard1.blogspot.ca/2013/08/triumph-down-under-and-shade-in-manila.html
    Interview With Richard Swenning: http://skateguard1.blogspot.ca/2013/08/interview-with-richard-swenning.html
    YAS4 Challenge 3 Time!: Oh Earth Oh Earth Return, You Forgot Your Skate Guards Girl!: http://skateguard1.blogspot.ca/2013/08/yas4-challenge-3-time-oh-earth-oh-earth.html
     
    Sylvia and (deleted member) like this.
  18. N_Halifax

    N_Halifax Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    776
  19. skatesindreams

    skatesindreams Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Messages:
    14,186
    What a fabulous Q and A, Ryan.
    Thank you!
     
    N_Halifax likes this.
  20. N_Halifax

    N_Halifax Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    776
    I'm so glad you enjoyed! Here's a couple more new goodies:

    A Field Guide To The 2013/2014 ISU Grand Prix: http://skateguard1.blogspot.ca/2013/08/a-field-guide-to-20132014-isu-grand-prix.html
    If You're Good To Robin, Robin's Good To You: Robin Cousins' Very Best Choreography For Other Skaters: http://skateguard1.blogspot.ca/2013/08/if-youre-good-to-robin-robins-good-to.html

    If you're enjoying these interviews and blog articles, give the blog a like at http://www.facebook.com/SkateGuard on Facebook! I post videos, photos and skating news regularly that aren't on the blog or (often) this forum. :))
     
  21. N_Halifax

    N_Halifax Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    776
  22. N_Halifax

    N_Halifax Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    776
    More new goodies:

    10.0: A Tribute To Brian Wright: http://skateguard1.blogspot.ca/2013/09/100-tribute-to-brian-wright.html
    YAS4 Challenge 5 Time!: Let's Talk About Steps Baby, Let's Talk About Inside 3's...: http://skateguard1.blogspot.ca/2013/09/yas4-challenge-5-time-lets-talk-about.html
    Looking Forward To The Competitive Season: http://skateguard1.blogspot.ca/2013/09/looking-forward-to-competitive-season.html
    Interview With Colin Grafton: http://skateguard1.blogspot.ca/2013/09/interview-with-colin-grafton.html
     
  23. N_Halifax

    N_Halifax Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    776
    What's new?

    Still Performing At 77 And 81: Why The Protopopovs Are Amazing: http://skateguard1.blogspot.ca/2013/09/still-performing-at-77-and-81-why.html
    Interview With Allison Scott (Jeremy Abbott's mother): http://skateguard1.blogspot.com/2013/09/interview-with-allison-scott.html
    Finding Peace On The Ice: Figure Skating And World War II: http://skateguard1.blogspot.com/2013/09/figure-skating-and-world-war-ii.html
    Interview With Nathan Birch (Of The Next Ice Age & John Curry's Company): http://skateguard1.blogspot.com/2013/09/interview-with-nathan-birch.html
    Long Lost Mothers And Skating Books: http://skateguard1.blogspot.com/2013/09/long-lost-mothers-and-skating-books.html

    I also share skating news, videos and a lot of fun daily on the Facebook group at http://www.facebook.com/SkateGuard. Click "like" to get everything on your News Feed. :))
     
  24. N_Halifax

    N_Halifax Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    776
  25. skatesindreams

    skatesindreams Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Messages:
    14,186
    Many thanks, for all of these!
     
  26. N_Halifax

    N_Halifax Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    776
    You're so welcome, skatesindreams! Really glad you're enjoying. XX
     
  27. sfahrut

    sfahrut Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    78
    Really enjoyable interviews! Thanks!
     
    N_Halifax likes this.
  28. pingu

    pingu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,488
    Great post!!! I think that sport media should be objective while doing their job, but without being mean or offensive towards skaters. Skaters get hurt by what they read online or listen on TV, so IMO we should all be careful about what we write. It does't mean writing only good things about programs, even if we don't like them, but being polite while expressing our opinion.

    Though I don't know what YASMas means...has it something in common with Christmas? :confused: Sorry
     
    N_Halifax likes this.
  29. N_Halifax

    N_Halifax Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    776
    Thanks for reading, pingu! I'm glad you enjoyed the piece. I agree with you 100%. YASmas is just a play on words... saying it's like Christmas to know who the finalists of this wonderful competition are. The response to this particular piece has been overwhelming and I love the positive reaction and mindset it seems to be bringing out in people. :)
     
  30. pingu

    pingu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,488
    Hehehe thanks for the explanation!