Resume and Cover Letter Question for HR Professionals

Discussion in 'Off The Beaten Track' started by Japanfan, Jul 21, 2010.

1. Japanfan

Japanfan Well-Known Member

Editing and composing resumes and cover letters is part of my job but as I'm not an HR professional I am not always award of changing trends - usually I get my information from customers who have worked with HR professionals.

A customer told me this morning she did not have enough bullet points under the job titles in her resume. The info was given to her by a school instructor, not an HR professional.

She was very happy with the resume I did for her but has the idea that all resumes should have the identical style and same sequence/number of bullet points. This doesn't make sense to me as everyone has different strengths and experience. For example, some people have skills that were applied in a number of jobs and in that case, I might list the skills first and then provide an employment list. But in other cases the skills demonstrated at different jobs were specific to those jobs and should be listed separately. And in yet other cases the person has weak job experience, so I'll emphasize general skills and aptitudes as well as education.

This resume is two pages and the titles I used were 'Qualification Highlights', 'Education', 'Highlights of Employment', 'Other Employment', and 'Volunteer Experience'. This format suited her experience and objectives and changing it would make the resume weaker IMO.

Does anyone know whether there are hard and fast rules about resumes and cover letters beyond what has long been the standard (i.e. name and address at the top of the resume)? For example, does there have to be a 'Profile' and 'Objective' title in a resume and a bullet point list of qualifications in the cover letter?

2. Quintuple

Quintuple papillon d'amour