Nursing Career Advice

Discussion in 'Off The Beaten Track' started by ilovepaydays, Jan 12, 2013.

1. ilovepaydays

ilovepaydays Well-Known Member

So, I got laid off yesterday. For the second time in two years. I was upset yesterday when it happened because it was a small company and I felt that the other women in the office "shut me out". They were horrible towards me. I'm sad I am laid off but I am glad I'm not going back there on Monday.

I have been frustrated with the type of work (Finance/Accounting) I was doing because, well, I don't really like it. Since I graduated from college 11 years ago, I have thought that I should have pursued a medical career. I enjoy working with (yes, ALL KINDS of) people and touching people and bodily fluids don't really bother me. I think I pursued a business career because I was scared of going into health career "just like me mom did".

Now I am thinking this is the time to go back to school and get my RN license. But I have a bachelor's in business and an MBA. So should I go for a BSN program or should I go for an AAS program? Would not having a bachelor's in nursing hurt me if I have advanced degrees in something else? I am concerned about it taking so long to become a nurse.

I realize I have some time before I commit to anything. I do have a decent amount of savings, thankfully.

2. Kasey

Kasey Loving on babies!