Living at home and paying rent

Discussion in 'Off The Beaten Track' started by mkats, Jun 23, 2010.

1. mkats

mkats New Member

I graduated from college in May and moved back home while continuing the job hunt - fortunately, I found one and am due to start working in a few weeks. I'd always assumed that I would start paying rent whenever I found a job and now that that's finally happened, thank goodness (can't say that enough!!), I plan on holding up to that, since I'll be continuing to live at home for now.

My question is - how much seems reasonable? I think it'll be up to me to bring up a number, but I don't want it to be too much or too little. None of the other college grads I know that moved home are paying rent at all, so I haven't been able to compare with them.

Would appreciate hearing how others handled this situation. TIA :)

kwanfan1818 and (deleted member) like this.
  2. Allen

Allen Glad to be back!

My parents refused to let me pay rent during the six months I lived with them, so I started grabbing the utility bills when they came and would pay them. I think that was about 250 dollars or so. I also would bring home essentials like toilet paper, paper towels, etc. My parents would keep hiding money in different parts of my house when I moved out, so I think they probably ended up paying me back.

mmscfdcsu and (deleted member) like this.
  3. Allskate

Allskate Well-Known Member

Congrats on the job and kudos to you for paying rent.

Maybe you can check something like craigslist to see what the going rate is for renting a room in your area?

4. Aussie Willy

Aussie Willy Well-Known Member

Congrats on the job. Well done.

I would say it is up to your parents to decide. They probably wouldn't charge you market rates because you are their child. And depending on their financial situation they may not be fussed if you did or not.

However if your parents said not to worry about it, buy food and pay your share of bills.