Katarina Witt-What did you really think about her?

Discussion in 'The Trash Can' started by TheGirlCanSkate, May 18, 2012.

1. TheGirlCanSkate

TheGirlCanSkate Active Member

Fierce competitor? Mediocre skater? I'm new to watching skating - I remember seeing a couple skating clips in the past but yesterday was the first time I saw her in an interview clip.

2. floskate

floskate Vacant

As a kid in the 80's I LOVED her. There were many better skaters out there at the same time but none of them could put it together the way she could when it really mattered and everything was on the line. Amazing competitor and her beauty and charisma were undeniable.

3. TheGirlCanSkate

I think the first time I saw any Olympic skating was during the Harding scandal. We had just moved to OR and she trained at the local mall so it was something everyone was watching.

Last year, I saw a clip on "worst skating music" of Katarina doing a routine to The Muppets and thought she was fun to watch, but the interview I saw yesterday made her...not very likable as a person.

I was surprised how that will color my view of Katarina now.

4. Cherub721

Cherub721 YEAH!

She was the bomb, basically. Like an ice dancer, but skating singles.... very few ladiezzz skaters have ever been so diverse, interesting, and captivating. She could interpret anything. She had an awesome and funny personality too - not PC, but never mean. I love her blog.

eta: I just saw your above post... what was the interview that made you think she was not likeable?

5. briancoogaert

briancoogaert Well-Known Member

I was too young, so, of course, I was amazed by her palmare. Plus everybody was saying she was THE skater.
    Actually, I'm not fond of her skating, but I admire her for her presence and the fact that she can sell anything with charisma.

6. bardtoob

bardtoob Well-Known Member