Jazzing Up a Plain Dress?

Discussion in 'Moves In The Field' started by iDanceonice, Nov 14, 2010.

1. iDanceonice

iDanceonice New Member

Hi everyone,

I recently bought a plain white ice dance dress, and I'm looking to add some sparkle to it. Does anyone have any ideas or tips for adding rhinestones to a dress? I've never done it before...what kinds of patterns would look good? Pictures would be great, as I'm kind of a visual learner, but any advice would be so helpful!

2. babbyrabbit

babbyrabbit New Member

I am known for being the stoning addict at the rink! :) I love to add bling. Its very very simple. I prefer to glue them on though. I get flatback crystals from
    http://www.tamisplace.com/
  3. LilJen

LilJen Well-Known Member

You don't have to do stones, either. You could put an applique (or multiple appliques) on there, or use a bit of sparkly fabric to make a fabric rose or something. The site I always use for fabric for skating costumes: www.spandexworld.com. (Their prices are great, you can get free samples, and their shipping is always quick.) I also found www.sequinappliques.com a while back--haven't ordered from it, so I can't attest to reliability but it may give you some ideas.
  4. Diane Mars

Diane Mars Active Member

5. iDanceonice

iDanceonice New Member

Thanks for the tips everyone! I plan to start the rhinestoning process as soon as I can...
  6. another sk8rmom

another sk8rmom Active Member

I purchase all my rhinestones from here: http://www.rhinestoneguy.com/

Fantastic selection of colors, sizes, as well as brands other than Swarovski if you're looking to save some $$.
  7. Doubletoe

Doubletoe Well-Known Member

I was just about to suggest you look at www.rhinestoneguy.com to see their "crystal elastic banding" as well. If you have a dress with a low, open back, these strands of crystals connected by elastic are another interesting option and this is one of only two places online I was able to find them.