Is it time to buy skates?

Discussion in 'Moves In The Field' started by Lilandra, Jun 2, 2010.

1. Lilandra

Lilandra New Member

Hi,

I've been learning to ice skate for about three to four months (one group lesson a week and sometimes a public session but I haven't done that much lately) and I've just used the plastic rental skates, so.....

how do I know when I should buy my own skates? should I wait a bit longer or will that slow my progress?

2. Aussie Willy

Aussie Willy Well-Known Member

It is always time to buy skates :).

You will find that it will take a bit of time to get used to them, but you will also probably start to find immediate improvement.

Maybe get a boot and blade set to start with as they are cheaper overall, but make sure the blades are screwed in, not rivetted, as then if you decide to upgrade to a different blade they will be easy to change over. There are some really good basic models available. Others here may have more advice on those.

3. Doubletoe

Doubletoe Well-Known Member

It is a well-kept secret that half of the reason beginning skaters can't skate well is because they are skating in rental skates. Get your own skates!! And make sure they fit perfectly.

4. Lilandra

Lilandra New Member

Thanks for the replies,

I was going to wait till August, but I really want them sooner, so maybe the end of June after exams when I have 2 weeks holiday (I'm going to try and skate nearly everyday then).

I usually try to find a reasonably sharp pair of rentals from the rack, but they all seem blunt.

Where do people usually buy skates? I've only really seen them in the shop at the rink and can't think of anywhere else that would sell them.

I live in New Zealand so I don't know how available things are compared to other countries.

5. Lilandra

Lilandra New Member

Also I have large feet that are wide and large ankles, will that make it harder to find skates that fit well?

6. Aussie Willy