I'm Finally a Bachelor of the Arts!

Discussion in 'Off The Beaten Track' started by VIETgrlTerifa, May 21, 2011.

1. VIETgrlTerifa

VIETgrlTerifa Well-Known Member

I graduated Cum Laude from my university. I became the first person in my father's side of the family (his older sister has 10 children and his younger sister has three but the older ones are successful in their business endeavors) to graduate college.

I don't know if any of you had a tinge of paranoia in the days leading up to your ceremony. I kept having these anxiety dreams of not graduating (in one dream I had a woman with a thick accent telling me I did not qualify for graduation because of a precedent from 1930). What exacerbated the problem was that my university did not really give me any sort of confirmation that I graduated. I did all the steps prior (apply for graduation, apply for a degree, graduation checklist, grad fest and confirming how my name should look on my diploma) but all of that happened either in the semester prior to my final one or early in my last semester before final grades were submitted. There was not even an email specifying when we should get to the arena or what the procedure was for the commencement. I learned from my friends who graduated from other universities that that is pretty much the norm.

Now, my next step is the LSAT in October and Law School applications. I'm going to study hardcore (especially the logic puzzles and logical reasoning portions) because I am hoping to score in the high 160 and even 170 range. Easier said than done. All of my friends who recently graduated from law school and passed the bar are telling me not to go into law school because of oversaturation and how hellish the experience was, but deep down, law is something I feel like I have to do. I weighed other options and I took so long to graduate college because I dabbled in doing other things before I realized what my goal in life was.