How long did it take you as a Skater to get used to skating in front of people?

Discussion in 'Moves In The Field' started by FSWer, Mar 29, 2012.

1. FSWer

FSWer Well-Known Member

Ok,I was just thinking about this today,and wanted to ask all you Skaters (who do so) here, how long it actually took YOU to get used to skating in front of people? Please include were you have skated, and how big a crowd.

2. overedge

overedge Well-Known Member

I've been skating in competitions for more than 10 years, and I am still not used to skating in front of people.

It's not something that is the same every time you do it. Sometimes you can feel and see that the audience is really supportive and positive, and that makes it easier. But even if the audience is really supportive and positive, it can still be scary if you are not confident in your program yet, or if you know that a lot of the skaters you are competing against have better skills or more experience than you.

Skating in front of people has gotten easier for me as I have had more experience with it, but I still wouldn't say I am used to it.

3. treesprite

treesprite Member

When I was in my first skating life, I skated in a mall skating rink with a great big window that all the mall customers used to stare through... took me a while to get used to it and I was just a kid. The other day I went to some unfamiliar rink to have my blades dealt with, and discovered that the rink has this upper mezzanine above it so the skaters get watched... I told the skate guy that I was glad I didn't skate there, because I don;t think I could deal with people watching me from up there.

4. TDsk8

TDsk8 New Member

Up to this day, I still get the same rubber legs, numb body feeling.

5. Synchkat

Synchkat New Member