Has anyone every had a Ferrlecit Infusion??

Discussion in 'Off The Beaten Track' started by Octoberopals, Aug 5, 2011.

1. Octoberopals

Octoberopals Well-Known Member

I'm due for one next week due to red blood cells in the bone marrow being too low.

I'd never heard of this until 2 hrs. ago; has anyone had any experience with this?

I find is weird because I also have hemochromotosis--genetically having too much iron in the blood.

2. ~tapdancer~

~tapdancer~ Well-Known Member

Hmm, this sounds a little weird to me, too. I'm a maternity nurse and I have given those iron infusions to my patients, usually they are anemic before delivery of the baby and then with the blood loss, they need either a blood transfusion or if they aren't keen on that or their anemia isn't profound, the doctor will order the Ferrlecit instead. But since this is actually iron in intravenous form, I'm curious why you would need this (since you have hemochromotosis) as opposed to an infusion of packed red blood cells. But then again, I'm not a hemotologist so I can't really answer except from my nursing point of view.

Hope you feel better!

ETA: The infusion itself is pretty straight forward. In my experience it's a small bag (and it's dark yellow colored fluid) that is infused over an hour. We take vital signs in the same manner as if we were infusing blood since you can have a reaction similar to a transfusion reaction. But I've personally never had that happen to any patient I've given the infusion to.

3. Octoberopals

Thanks, tapdancer. I'm sort of nervous about this. I will be talking to the Dr. before I sign off on this.

4. Holley Calmes

Holley Calmes Well-Known Member

Hemochromotosis runs in my family. Are you of Scots heritage? There's a lot of it running through folks with ancestors from Scotland. I have a Rutherford family member with it.

Best wishes! Don't worry too much! Let us know how you come out.

5. Octoberopals

Holley Calmes,