Frank Carroll: The Skate Whisperer

Discussion in 'Great Skate Debate' started by Yazmeen, Feb 23, 2014.

1. Yazmeen

Yazmeen Well-Known Member

Doggygirl and (deleted member) like this.
  2. berthesghost

berthesghost Well-Known Member

I wish someone would do a more extensive article on frank. Reading this I wanted more info on Jenny, Carolina, surya, d10, etc...

I was a little surprised by Jenny's interview with manleywoman. Here is someone struggling with personal problems, yet iirc she only had nice things to say about the "I'm not your father!" Frank and "I'm a hockey coach bully" Evy, but totally threw "I'll manage every aspect of your life" Callaghan under the bus as a sham.

3. my little pony

my little pony snarking for AZE

i'd like to hear more about that colonel tom parker deal he had with tim goebel and other skaters that tim mentioned on TSL. frank will get up in your life when it is time to get paid.

4. skatesindreams

skatesindreams Well-Known Member

I think that his explanation of the difference between a "teacher" and a "coach" is important; and telling.

FC expects those he coaches to be responsible for their own actions and behavior,
    It's refreshing,

5. Sparks

Sparks Well-Known Member

While that was interesting, yet not surprising, I think Tim was being less than honest in that interview about why Frank fired him.
    Not that he had to reveal anything, mind you.
    There must be something about special about Frank if Kwan, Kirk, and others still have so much respect for him.

6. canbelto

canbelto Well-Known Member

Seems Frank's technique is great when you have skaters who are naturally driven and hard-working. But I do think the mark of a successful coach is being able to work with different, even difficult personalities and also get them to where they need to be.

7. Wyliefan

Wyliefan Well-Known Member

Good interview!

8. alilou

alilou Crazy Stalker Lady