flying camel

Discussion in 'Moves In The Field' started by fan, Oct 20, 2010.

1. fan

fan Active Member

hi all,

i'm just learning to do a flying camel spin. my coach has told me that i should do a full revolution on my toe of the foot i jump from, then jump onto my back foot. I have trouble staying in position for the revolution on my pick - anyone have any tips?

thanks!

2. gkelly

gkelly Well-Known Member

I've never heard of doing a full revolution on the toepick before jumping. What I have heard is to hold the forward outside edge until it curves around for a full (diminishing) circle before jumping. Is it possible that's what your coach was trying to get at?

3. fan

fan Active Member

possibly. I will confirm and then check back.

No wonder practising it was so hard.

Thanks!

4. Firefly123

Firefly123 New Member

Holding the revoultion/rotating on the pick would almost certainly cause a "salchow" takeoff (a "v" mark on the ice) and, on ice, that is a big no-no. :(
    The FO edge should be very tight and (as mentioned) it will naturally go to the toe pick. While this is happening the free side is comming around in a coordinated motion and will "pull" you around as you jump off the toe. This motion should take place at the last possible moment before a 3 turn would naturaly occur. (But do not allow a 3 turn).

I've never heard of deliberately salchowing a flying camel on ice (staying on the toe for long enough for a 3 turn to take place). I know that this is a "mistake" on ice and you can loose points for it. (Salchow takeoff on flying camel or deathdrop). Interestingly, one MUST salchow flying spins on inline/roller since there is no pick to "catch" the takeoff and the skater will slip to the side (ouch!) :duh:

5. Doubletoe

Doubletoe Well-Known Member