Financial literacy in high school

Discussion in 'Off The Beaten Track' started by KCC, Feb 1, 2011.

1. KCC

KCC Active Member

I went to the local high school principal and guidance counselor to see how I might help out as a volunteer, and they asked me to develop a seminar on financial literacy for grades 9-12 (slightly different seminar per grade). Whenever I ask kids who teaches them about money, I usually get a blank stare, and when I ask what they have been taught, the usual answer is "it does not grow on trees".

I am updating my working outline and am interested in your ideas on "things you wish you knew about money when you were in high school". What, if anything, would have made an impact on or difference to you at that age?

2. Twilight1

Twilight1 Well-Known Member

The concept of saving. I wish I was taught how to do that in highschool, heck I am still learning how to do it and I am in my 30's!! :lol:

3. BittyBug

BittyBug Kiteless

I'm so glad to read this, as I've often been completely :confused: that a country driven by capitalism doesn't have basic financial issues as part of a core high school curriculum.

Expanding on Twilight's comment about savings, I'd include:

- how to balance a checking / debit account (how many kids end up over drawing their accounts? :wall: )

- the true cost of debt - how something with a $20 purchase price can end up costing $40 or $60 with interest costs

- how to save, using examples of tangible purchases like a new pair of sneakers, a new cell phone, etc., to show how they could save up for these purchases by putting $x a way each week or month

- the impact of saving regularly, even if it's just a little bit of money at a time (maybe use the example of that lady who recently died a millionaire, yet she had only ever worked as a washer woman)

4. Artemis@BC

Artemis@BC Well-Known Member