Do you recognize costumes from the past worn by younger skaters?

Discussion in 'The Trash Can' started by Vash01, Aug 26, 2011.

1. Vash01

Vash01 Fan of Julia, Elena, Anna, Liza, and Vera

I am not very good at this, but occasionally I do recognize a recycled costume- that is, a costume worn by a usually well known senior level skater that is being used by a younger skater(s) in a competition a few years later.

I went to see the JGP in 2001, and immediately recognized Yagudin's past costume on Andrei Griazev.

When I watched Petrova-Sikharulidze from roughly 1995, I recognized the costumes worn by Bechke & Petrov for their 1992 Olympics LP (The Nutcracker).

I had read that after Sergei's passing Katia had given away some of his costumes (probably hers too) to young pairs. I don't remember seeing them, but I am sure they were used in competitions by other skaters.

Last edited: Aug 27, 2011
  2. Mafke

Mafke New Member

Jutta Muller used to do that a lot IIRC I think she even outfitted Evelyn Grossman in an costume first(?) worn by Anett Poetzsch (over 10 years previously).

3. falling_dance

falling_dance D. Murakami's Newest Fan

I believe the following is correct...

Michelle Kwan peformed her EoE exhibition at 1996 Nationals and Worlds in a Bob Mackie hand-me-down from Linda Fratianne. Sasha Cohen once wore a dress that had belonged to Jenni Meno. Courtney Hicks competed in Cohen's Rach dress with the yellow skirt last season, and Nina Petushkova skated in Slutskaya's black Tosca dress during the 2008-9 season.

4. poths

poths Well-Known Member

The only one that comes to mind is Mao wearing Midori Ito's 1996 costume at her first senior Japanese Nationals in2002? <---you have to flick on a bit as it starts with highlights of her sp.

5. Chele615

Chele615 Let's go Anacode!!!