Beautiful people are 'also' smarter people! [of course, I already knew this.]

Discussion in 'Off The Beaten Track' started by Beefcake, Jan 17, 2011.

1. Beefcake

Beefcake Guest

2. DuckLikesSkate

DuckLikesSkate New Member

Yeah, very interesting. Will want to see the methodology on this one.

This study is perhaps a good one, so I'm not challenging it, but as a mathematician, I have to say that the literally hundreds/thousands of really brilliant people I have met over the years in a variety of fields from math to literature to computer science have, generally speaking, been pretty darn ugly. In fact, I'd say less than 10% were what you'd call attractive. Of the many attractive people I've met, very few were really smart.

To give you an idea, I am a guy who has slightly "above average" looks. By no means am I even close to model quality, but I am blessed with certain features that people seem to like. Now, being just slightly above average in the looks department has made me a freaking supermodel in the circles I currently run in. It's quite amusing actually, because in the gay and figure skating worlds I was/am 'meh', but in the academic world people go, "Wow." It's pretty hilarious. (I know it sounds like I'm bragging, but I'm really not. If you knew me, you would think it was pretty funny, too. )

Of course, all of that is anecdotal and essentially worthless, but this is certainly one of those studies that is bound to be a bit controversial .

Last edited: Jan 17, 2011
    Eden and (deleted member) like this.
  3. El Rey

El Rey Well-Known Member

At my high school the attractive, athletic and popular people were also the smartest. And they didn't peak in high school. Most went on to be quite successful.

4. snoopy

snoopy Team St. Petersburg