Are you in favor of Armed Gaurds in Schools?

Discussion in 'Off The Beaten Track' started by FSWer, Mar 30, 2013.

Are you in favor of Armed Gaurds?

1. Yes

8.2%
  2. No

84.9%
  3. I'm not so sure.

6.8%
  1. FSWer

FSWer Well-Known Member

Ok,they have been talking about this on the News. So I thought I would try turning it into a Thread. But..in the aftermath oth the Sandy Hook School Shooting..are you in favor of Armed Gaurds in Schools?

Buzz and (deleted member) like this.
  2. Buzz

Buzz Well-Known Member

I say hire Art teachers instead of armed guards.

3. DAngel

DAngel Active Member

:lol:

To Art teachers :40beers:

Buzz and (deleted member) like this.
  4. PeterG

PeterG Hanyuflated

MAKE ART NOT WAR!!! :cheer2: :cheer:

5. PrincessLeppard

PrincessLeppard Pink Bitch

Okay, I'm a teacher, so I'll answer this the best I can. For about seven years, my school (I teach high school) had a police officer in the school and he carried a gun. And a taser. The kids were more frightened of the taser, interestingly. I don't like guns, but I'd like to assume (though I know I could be utterly wrong) that are cops are pretty well trained in gun use, and I wasn't worried about him shooting anyone.

I would worry a bit more about an armed security guard, because sometimes (not always!) security guards are cop wannabes who didn't make the cut, and I would prefer that those people not have access to anything more dangerous than string.

And also remember, there was an armed officer at Columbine, for all the good that did.

So I guess my point is, am I in favor of armed guards in schools? No. But having one in my school wasn't some big trauma, either.

Kasey and (deleted member) like this.
  6. heckles

heckles Well-Known Member

If we start arming gaurds, it's only fair to arm pumpkins too.

7. Rob

Rob Beach Bum

Gourds?

8. heckles

Glad someone got it. :)

9. Wyliefan

Wyliefan Well-Known Member

What, because it's easy to take down a shooter with a paintbrush?