Adult skating track

Discussion in 'Moves In The Field' started by vahornet, Mar 10, 2013.

1. vahornet

vahornet New Member

Alright, hoping for a bit of an explanation. I'm 21 and have been skating 2 months now. Currently taking learn to skate lessons and just started privates. I am floating between low freestyle 1-3ish (have a solid waltz, learning salchow, one foot spins, etc). I'm interested in eventually competing but confused as to how to get into it.

At what level does one need to be at in order to compete at?

Do I need to join a club? Most in my area seem to be geared to kids but I'm willing to be the giant on ice!

Do you need to test first? I think I just got confused with all the different types of competitions and testing (sectional, nationals, etc)

2. overedge

overedge Well-Known Member

Are you talking about USFS or ISI testing and competition?

3. Skittl1321

Skittl1321 Well-Known Member

Both USfsa and Isi have competitions at the absolute beginner level. I would find out which system is more common in your area and study a rule book.

You will need to join the organization to compete, but possibly not a club. USfsa has an option for individual membership, I'm not sure about Isi.

To compete Isi you need to test, but the low level tests are just done with your group lesson program. USfsa has a " no test" level, after that you would first test pre bronzes moves in the field and then you can test free skate. It is not until bronze that you are eligible for nationals, but at that level you do not have to qualify. Most people start at local competitions, yes, they are over run with kids, but you will not compete against them in most cases.

You should talk to a coach at your rink. They can help guide you.

4. treesprite

treesprite Member

If I was only 21 and was going to do USFSA tests, I'd stick to standard rather than adult track. Reserve adult track for after you hit your 30s.

5. purple skates

purple skates Shadow dancing