A Baking Question

Discussion in 'Off The Beaten Track' started by nubka, Dec 16, 2012.

1. nubka

nubka Well-Known Member

2. Whitneyskates

Whitneyskates Well-Known Member

I always omit the salt if I'm using salted butter. You can never tell how much salt is in salted butter, some brands are saltier than the other.

3. maatTheViking

maatTheViking Well-Known Member

Omit. Dansh recipes almost always call for salted butter, and no salt for sweet bakery. Granted European style butter s less salted too, but even in the US I rarely get unsalted butter.

4. milanessa

milanessa engaged to dupa

I agree - no added salt. Although I am a failed baker. ;)

5. TheGirlCanSkate

TheGirlCanSkate New Member

I would use a good pinch of salt. You can't be sure there is enough salt in the salted butter.

6. milanessa

What does salt do in a recipe like that? Honest question.

signed - failed baker.

7. MacMadame

MacMadame Internet Beyotch

It's supposed to enhance the flavor. I rarely put in as much as they say to begin with and often use unsalted butter even if the recipe doesn't call for it because a lot of my recipes are older and I think they overdo the salt. But you can't have none or your baked goods will be bland. This is especially true if chocolate is involved.

Also, you must have salt in bread as it helps with the rising. Otherwise your bread will be a brick. :)

Here's an article on it if you want to know more:

http://shaunasever.com/2011/06/why-salt-is-important-in-baking.html

8. Whitneyskates

Whitneyskates Well-Known Member

Salt really helps bring out the flavor when you're baking. I made a batch of cookies a couple weeks ago and forgot to add salt and I could really taste the difference. The cookies had a very bland sweet taste to them.

9. maatTheViking

Salt is a flavor enhancer, but I really think sweet stuff is often over salted.

Savory bread is another issue.

10. kwanfan1818

kwanfan1818 I