2014 Canadians TV Coverage

Discussion in 'TV ALERTS' started by manhn, Nov 29, 2013.

  1. manhn

    manhn Well-Known Member

    9,460
    2,074
    113
    http://cartt.ca/article/tsn-and-ctv-carry-canadian-skating-championship-hd

     
    PeterG and (deleted member) like this.
  2. Fort

    Fort New Member

    114
    15
    0
    Hmm, I don't think that would be 2014 -- first I noticed that it's labelled as BMO and I just figured someone would get their wrist slapped over it (it hasn't been BMO in a few years, I don't think, and this year it is definitely Canadian Tire). But the dates are off, too. January 12 is a Sunday and the last day of the gala. Thursday (January 9) is a practice day only. (But thank you for looking and for posting! :) )
     
  3. victorskid

    victorskid Skating supporter

    3,856
    650
    113
    There is nothing yet on the Skate Canada site regarding the broadcast schedule for 2014 Canadians (beginning on Thursday, January 9th and running through the 15th).
     
  4. skatingguy

    skatingguy Active Member

    476
    47
    28
    I don't know what sort of coverage is planned for the short programs but if you look at the competition schedule you'll see that the free skates are split - most skaters skating early and then the final groups in each discpline on later - those will probably be broadcast live - just a hunch.
     
  5. luckiest1

    luckiest1 Well-Known Member

    1,228
    89
    48
    Still nothing on the TSN Figure Skating page......talk about leaving it to the last minute to schedule!
     
  6. Skate Talker

    Skate Talker Replaced the display under my name

    4,999
    280
    83
    No kidding! what is it that they don't know about their other programs that is causing this delay?
     
  7. blueglass

    blueglass New Member

    402
    51
    0
    Any news on the schedule yet?
     
  8. luckiest1

    luckiest1 Well-Known Member

    1,228
    89
    48
    There are now two times listed on TSN.ca. Friday Jan 10th at 3 p.m. and again at 7:30 p.m.

    ETA: I also see a one hour slot on the CTV.ca schedule on Sunday Jan 12th at 5 p.m.

    This begs the question, when are they going to broadcast the free skates?
     
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2013
  9. shutterbug

    shutterbug Well-Known Member

    1,212
    266
    83
    The full TV schedule is now posted on the event website: http://www.skatecanada.ca/en-us/eve...antirenationalfigureskatingchampionships.aspx

    Friday, January 10
    15:00 ET & 12:00 PT - Women's & Ice Dance Short Program TSN
    19:00 - 22:00 RDS2
    19:30 ET & 16:30 PT - Men's & Pairs Short Program TSN

    Saturday, January 11
    16:00 ET & 13:00 PT - Pairs & Ice Dance Free Program TSN
    16:00 ET & 13:00 PT - Women's & Men's Free Program TSN
    16:30 - 18:00 RDS

    Sunday, January 12
    17:00 ET & 14:00 PT - Event Recap CTV
    20:00 - 22:30 RDS

    Sunday, January 25
    19:00 ET & 16:00 PT – Gala CTV
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2013
  10. blueglass

    blueglass New Member

    402
    51
    0
    This is the schedule a TSN audience relations rep sent me:

    Fri. January 10 at 3 p.m. ET: Women's & Ice Dance Short on TSN
    Fri. January 10 at 7:30 p.m. ET: Men's & Pairs Short on TSN
    Sat. January 11 at 2:30 p.m. ET: Short Program Recap on CTV
    Sat. January 11 at 4 p.m. ET: Pairs & Ice Dance Free on TSN
    Sat. January 11 at 7p.m. ET: Women's & Men's Free on TSN
     
  11. victorskid

    victorskid Skating supporter

    3,856
    650
    113
    That list includes a CTV short program recap on Saturday rather than the event recap on Sunday, otherwise it matches what is posted on the Skate Canada website. For what it's worth, my on-screen guide matches the Skate Canada listing, ie. it has the Sunday recap on CTV but nothing on CTV on Saturday.
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2014
  12. Skate Talker

    Skate Talker Replaced the display under my name

    4,999
    280
    83
    Well you never know - yda the Sunday recap on CTV was not in my listings but today it is. Who knows what tmo will bring. There is a 1 hour TBA on Saturday at noon CT. Talk about waiting to the last minute - what a mess. Can only hope that some other country bought the rights to the broadcast and we eventually get access to the rest of the skating. Last year I think it was shown in full on Spanish TV or something unexpected like that.
     
  13. Alixana

    Alixana Definitely NOT a sonogram

    1,273
    176
    63
    CTV main network is broadcasting the NFL playoffs Sat and Sun afternoons so I doubt they'll be able to adjust scheduling to accommodate more than an 1/2 hour recap. Very happy that TSN is part of my cable package!
     
  14. Skate Talker

    Skate Talker Replaced the display under my name

    4,999
    280
    83